Includes: IP Basics, Government IP Offices in the U.S., IP News, Related Issues and Finding Tools
What are Copyright, Patent, Service Marks and Trademarks? Via United States Patent and Trademark Office's (USPTO) Page, an introduction to basic concepts of Intellectual Property Rights.
USPTO's special page for kids. It answers the most frequently asked kids' questions about patents, trademarks and copyrights. It is also a good source for adult beginners to know the basics of IP.
United States Customs
Service and IP
A quick overview of the basics about IP.
IP Overview
This is a sub-page of International Information Programs created by the Department of State,
providing an overview of IP.
Patent Assistance Center (PAC)
A telephone service within the U. S. Patent and Trademark Office for providing
information services to the public concerning any general questions regarding patent examining
policies and procedures.
How to...
A USPTO sub-page dealing with practical issues such as how to find patents and
trademarks, how to get registered...
U.S. Top Schools in
Engineering
and
IP Law Via US NEWS.
Patent and Trademark Depository
Library
A comprehensive source for official publications on IP issues.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
USPTO Pulse
Monthly news magazine. Goes back to July 1997.
USPTO's News and Notice page
Official News Gazettes (back to 1964)
IPO Daily News
Back to October 1996
IP Law Practice Center
Practice-specific news, good for IP law Practitioners.
IP News from Questel Orbit
Provides updated legal news about IP disputes.
News Matrix
Links to different search engines finding IP news.
News from Quick Links
Look at the subject heading: Copyright, Trademark and Patents.
Computer Crime and IP
A subpage from US Department of Justice site, focusing on federal laws and regulations
concerning computer crimes.
Internet Law Pathfinder
A subpage of Internet Public Library site. This pathfinder is intended to provide an
introduction to Internet Law.
Culture and IP issues
Created by the University of Alaska National Science Foundation Rural School & Community
Trust Culture, focusing on Culture and IP issues.
Patent Source links
This is a subpage of Kueterlaw.com, providing comprehensive links to Patent sources.
Franklin Pierce Law Center IP Mall
"The IP Mall links to a unique collection of intellectual property resources served up by the
Franklin Pierce Law Center."
Bibliographies
Specialized legal research / Leah F. Chanin, general editor ; with contributions from Joseph
James Beard ... [et al.].
UIUC Law Reference, Call Number: KF240. S691987
International intellectual property protection for computer software: a research guide and
annotated bibliography / by Jon S. Schultz & Steven Windsor.
UIUC Law Stacks Call Number: K1443.C6 A141994
If you chose to use
UIUC Library Catalog, the following Library of
Congress Subject Headings are useful:
Patent,
Trademark,
Competition Unfair,
Copyright, Trade Secrets, Patent Laws and Legislation
(Note: there are many other related subject headings. Please contact a Government
Documents librarian for assistance)
Includes: Overview of Patents, Patents Search, Patent Laws, Other Sources on Patents.
What is a patent and what can
be patented?
Via USPTO website, an overview of the Patent.
Patent Basics USPTO site
Patents forms
Patents application forms are available through USPTO site.
USPTO Patent Search
A search engine hosted by the USPTO provides "Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image
Databases". Two kinds of searches can be done through this page:
---Patents Grants (full-text since 1976, full-page images since 1790)
---Patent Applications (published since 15 March 2001)
Note: For first-time users, "help" and "how to access full-page images" are very helpful.
Delphion Patent Search
Maintained by Delphion Company. Although this is a fee based website, it provides free access
to US Granted Bibliographic Text, Search IP Listings, Patent Number Searching and other
services.
How to Identify & Obtain Patents
A page from University of California, San Diego site. "Search Steps" in this page are
helpful for first time users.
Patent Search Tutorial
Via University of California, San Diego, a guide for searching patents through the
Internet.
Patent law overview
via Cornell Law page.
Patents Legislation & Regulations
A subpage from USPTO site.
35 U.S. Code via GPO Access
Provides official sources on Patents legislation. Search steps:
GPO Access Home Page>"U.S. code" > "Browse
the United States Code"> "TITLE 35--PATENTS".
37 Code of Federal Regulation via GPO
Access
Provide current regulations on Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights. Search steps: "New
Code of Federal Regulation Browse Feature"> pull down to " Title 37" and click the appropriate
checkbox(es) in the table>click continue.
35 U.S. Code via Cornell Law School
Search
Supreme Court syllabi-patent
Hosed by Cornell law school, provides U.S. Supreme Court cases on patents disputes.
Patents and Patent law
This page is maintained by an IP law firm. Its Executive Summary is a source to get an
overview of patents and patent law.
Patentlawlinks.com
Provides links to IP related case laws, statutes and regulations.
Findlaw-Patents
A subpage of Findlaw.com, provides case law, statutes and regulations on Patent Law
Bad patents and legal issues
A site maintained by a IP law firm providing sources for patent disputes.
Jurist on Patents
A site hosted by the University of Pittsburgh, provides information about patent books,
journals and news. Some full text review articles are also available.
Patent law at MIT
This page was created for assisting Patent Law classes in MIT. It is a good source to
"explore current research concerning Patent Law and its role in the rapidly changing world of high
technology."
Yahoo.com patent search A search engine that enables searches concerning Patents and Patent Law, such as Chemical and Biotechnological patent issues.
Patent law for non-lawyers
Maintained by DNApatent.com. It is a simple, easily-understood introduction to patent law as
it applies to biotechnology.
Patent Source links
This is a subpage of Kueterlaw.com, providing comprehensive links to Patent sources
Includes: Overview, Laws, Other Sources on Trademark and Unfair Competition
Basic Facts about Trademarks
A sub-page of USPTO site, which provides a concise overview of Trademarks.
Trademark overview
A law firm page. Provides an overview of Trademarks and Trademark laws.
Unfair competition:
overview
Maintained by Cornell law school, explains why trademarks and unfair competition are
correlated.
Trademark forms
Trademarks application forms are available through USPTO site.
Trademark Electronic Application System
Maintained by the USPTO.
15 U.S. Code 22 via GPO Access
Provides official sources on Trademarks legislation. Search steps:
GPO Access Home Page>"U.S. code" > "Browse
the United States Code"> "TITLE 15--COMMERCE AND TRADE"> "CHAPTER 22-- TRADEMARKS"
37 Code of Federal Regulation via GPO
Access
Provide current regulations on Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights. Search steps: "New
Code of Federal Regulation Browse Feature"> pull down to " Title 37" and click the appropriate
checkbox(es) in the table>click continue.
Legal sources on Trademarks
A subpage of USPTO Site, provides links to legal sources on Trademarks.
U.S code title 15
Via Cornell Legal Information Institute. Full text statutes concerning trademarks are
available.
Search
Supreme Court Syllabi-Trademarks
Via Cornell Legal Information Institute. U.S. Supreme Court cases on Trademarks and Unfair
competition are available in full text.
Unfair Competition Law Source
Links to State Business and Professions Code Statutes of each of the 50 states.
Trademark War on the Web
Follows some law suits against some of the famous brands.
"All about Trademarks"
Providing comprehensive sources on trademarks, hosted by a law firm.
Trademarks General
Reference
Cases and laws on domain disputes are available in this site.
George Washington Page:
Trademarks
Some of the Congressional hearings on Trademark legislation can be found in this
site.
Includes: Overview, Laws and Other Sources on Copyrights
Copyright Basics
Via US. Copyright Office, provides a concise overview of Copyright and related
issues
Copyright: an overview
Via Cornell Legal Information Institute. Gives an overview of copyright laws.
Quick View of
Copyright
A page hosted by the University of Texas providing basics on copyright and related laws.
Copyright forms
Copyright Application forms are available through U.S. Copyright office.
17 U.S. Code via GPO Access
Provides official sources on Patents. Search steps:
GPO Access Home Page>"U.S. code" > "Browse
the United States Code"> "TITLE 17--Copyright"
37 Code of Federal Regulation via GPO
Access
Provide current regulations on Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights. Search steps: "New
Code of Federal Regulation Browse Feature"> pull down to " Title 37" and click the appropriate
checkbox(es) in the table>click continue.
U.S. Code 17
Via Cornell Legal Information Institute Site, U.S. Code 17 is available in full
text.
37 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Via Cornell Legal Information Institute Site, provides 37 CFR in full-text.
Copyright and Fair Use
Hosted by Stanford University, provides sources on introduction to Copyright and sources of
Copyright legislation.
IEEE Page
Provides background information about technology and IP.
University Copyright Resources
Via Yale University Library. A comprehensive site for finding both university and
non-university resources on Intellectual Property Rights, especially copyright issues.
Copyright Site via UC Berkeley
A comprehensive site for search references, laws and academic articles on Copyright
issues.
A Guide to Copyright for Music
Librarians
This site is sponsored by the Legislation Committee of the Music Library Association. A good
source for searching copyright laws concerning music works.
Copyright for
Educators
A good site for librarians, teachers, parents and students to learn basics on Copyright
issues.
Yahoo
Search
A specialized search engine for finding copyright related materials.
Web Site and Copyright issues
W3C's page, featuring new Copyright issues with the development of the World Wide
Web.
Software and Copyright
Issues
Provided by W3C site. Its Frequently Asked Questions are helpful to understand Software and
Copyright issues.
Includes: International IP Protection, International, Foreign and Regional IP Organizations
International Intellectual Property
Protection
IP protection has gone beyond the national borders. This site via USPTO provides
information about the IP protection systems in the United Nations, European Union and other
countries.
IP Protection in the European Union (EU)
As a part of the European Commission's Innovation Program, this page gives an overview of
practical IP issues in the EU.
IP in the
Asian-Pacific Economic Cooperation
A good source to learn about the current development of IP issues in Asian-Pacific
regions.
Oxford Intellectual Property Research Center
Provides some full text research articles on international IP protection.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
WIPO Arbitration & Mediation Center
International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants (UPOV)
World Trade Organization (WTO) Intellectual Property Page
Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market (European Union Trademark Office)