Hurricanes

 

 

Katrina

Graphical Forecasts: Southern Mississippi Valley http://weather.gov/forecasts/graphical/sectors/southmissvly.php#tabs
The National Weather Service created this interactive weather forecast map.  Scroll over the items listed on the left to change the data displayed on the map.
 
Hurricane Katrina
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd/Storm_pages/katrina2005/index.html 
The Hurricane Research Division at the Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory has posted this site about the research it is doing on Hurricane Katrina.
 
Hurricane Katrina Imagery
http://alt.ngs.noaa.gov/katrina/
NOAA compiled this site of aerial photographs of areas damaged by Katrina.
 
NASA Hurricane Resource Page
http://www.nasa.gov/vision/earth/lookingatearth/hurricane_2005.html
This page contains information concerning damage to NASA facilities, as well as aerial images of Katrina-affected areas, and animated simulations of floodwaters.
 
Corps Hurricane Response
http://www.mvd.usace.army.mil/hurricane/chr.php
The Army Corps of Engineers is working to repair breaches in the levees that protected New Orleans from flooding and to pump water out of the city.
 
Louisiana Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness
http://www.ohsep.louisiana.gov/
This site contains news about Katrina recovery, contact information for shelters and recommended relief organizations, and a link to a Hurricane page that contains general information about preparing for and recovering from hurricanes.
 
Mississippi Emergency Management Agency
http://www.msema.org/index.htm
This site contains news and evacuation routes and instructions for hurricane-damaged areas of Mississippi. Also contains information on reporting missing persons and receiving disaster assistance.
 
Greater New Orleans Community Data Center
http://www.gnocdc.org/
This local site uses Census 2000 data to compile and map demographic characteristics that are relevant to the impact of Hurricane Katrina, such as households without cars and poverty rates.

 

Meteorological Information

National Hurricane Center
http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/
This is the U.S. government agency that tracks and researches hurricanes.  The NHC site contains statistics about past hurricanes, results of scientific research conducted by NHC meteorologists, and advice on hurricane preparedness.
 
Hurricane Research Division
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd/
This is the main page for the program at the Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory that studies hurricanes.  A description of their research agenda is at http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/divisionobjective/Tropical_Meteorology.pdf
 
U.S. Geological Survey: Hurricane and Extreme Storm Impact Studies
http://coastal.er.usgs.gov/hurricanes/
This site links to impact studies of major hurricanes since 1996. The U.S.G.S. conducts three-part investigations of coastal storms to assess their impact on U.S. coasts. Katrina is not yet included.
 
World Meteorological Organization Tropical Cyclone Programme
http://www.wmo.int/web/www/TCP/TCP-home.html
This organization is a specialized agency of the United Nations that coordinates regional and national weather agencies in order to reduce the loss of life from hurricanes.
 
Climate of 2005: Hurricane Katrina
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/research/2005/katrina.html
The National Climactic Data Center has compiled this site summarizing the meteorological characteristics of Katrina and comparing it to past hurricanes.

 

Disaster Recovery Information

Hazards: Hurricanes
http://www.fema.gov/hazards/hurricanes/
This site from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) describes the dangers associated with hurricanes and gives advice to consumers on how to prepare for and recover from a hurricane.
 
National Hurricane Program
http://www.fema.gov/hazards/hurricanes/nhp.shtm
A description of the work that FEMA does to help communities and individuals prepare for and cope with hurricanes.
 
Hurricane Katrina
http://gismaps.fema.gov/2005pages/katrina.shtm
This site is from the FEMA Mapping and Analysis Center and contains satellite images of damage as well as maps of power outages, total rainfall, and other topics related to recovery from Katrina.
 
FirstGov: Hurricane Katrina Recovery
http://www.firstgov.gov/Citizen/Topics/PublicSafety/Hurricane_Katrina_Recovery.shtml
Information on missing persons connecting with family and friends, what to do if you are a victim of the disaster, how to help victims, and a listing of disaster cleanup and agency resources.
 
FEMA: 2005 Hurricane: Volunteer or Make a Donation http://www.fema.gov/press/2005/katrinadonations.shtm
FEMA lists organizations accepting donations of cash and/or volunteers. FEMA advises that volunteers should not report directly to the affected area unless directed by a voluntary agency.
 
Hurricane Katrina's Impact on the U.S. Oil and Natural Gas Markets
http://tonto.eia.doe.gov/oog/special/eia1_katrina.html
The Energy Information Administration of the U.S. Department of Energy prepared this report.
 
Flood Water Testing Results: Chemical Testing
http://www.epa.gov/katrina/testresults/chem/090305/chem2005_09_03.html
The Environmental Protection Agency posted these results from its testing of the floodwaters in new Orleans.
 
Hurricane Katrina: Links to Health Information Including Toxicology and Environmental Health
http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro/hurricane.html
Links to U.S. and international health organizations, as well as information on health and environmental issues that arise after a hurricane.
 
Environmental Health Needs and Habitability Assessment
http://www.epa.gov/katrina/reports/envneeds_hab_assessment.html
This report from the Centers for Disease Control and the Environmental Protection Agency describes the environmental and public health challenges facing residents who return to New Orleans.
 
GAO Reports and Testimonies Related to Disaster Preparedness, Relief, and Reconstruction
http://www.gao.gov/docsearch/featured/dprr.html
The Government Accountability Office investigates government agencies and programs for effectiveness and efficiency.  Reports on this site are about topics like public health, energy supply, and flood control.

 

Contact Us

Government Information Services, Access and Collections
450-F Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, Illinois 61801
Phone: (217) 244-4621

E-mail GovInfo

Facebook



People

Mary Mallory, Coordinator, Government Information Services, Access and Collections, University Library

Karen Hogenboom, Numeric and Spatial Data Librarian, Scholarly Commons 
 
Stephanie Martin, Graduate Assistant, Government Information