Environmental Protection Agency's EnviroMapper Maps the environmental impact by zip code or by county and state
The United States Botanic Garden is a living plant museum. Exhibits interpret the role of plants in supporting earth's diverse and fragile ecosystems and in enriching human life. Established by Congress in 1820, the U.S. Botanic Garden is one of the oldest botanic gardens in North America. The garden's first greenhouse was constructed in 1842. The Garden has been administered through the Office of the Architect of the Capitol since 1934.
Farm Service Agency, part of the U.S Department of Agriculture
Through the American Memory Project, Library of Congress is working to digitize the distinctive, historical Americana materials from the Library's collections and to make them available online to users worldwide. These materials include photographs, manuscripts, rare books, maps, recorded sound, and moving pictures.
National Park Service's Cultural Resources, Partnerships, and Science works to be sure that America's cultural resources are carefully identified, evaluated, documented, registered, preserved, and interpreted.
National Endowment for the Arts exists to foster, preserve, and promote excellence in the arts, to bring art to all Americans, and to provide leadership in arts education. Established by Congress in 1965 as an independent agency of the federal government, the Endowment is the nation's largest annual funder of the arts, bringing great art to all 50 states, including rural areas, inner cities, and military bases.
The Architect of the Capitol is responsible to the United States Congress for the maintenance, operation, development, and preservation of the United States Capitol Complex, which includes the Capitol, the congressional office buildings, the Library of Congress buildings, the Supreme Court building, the U.S. Botanic Garden, the Capitol Power Plant, and other facilities.
National Gallery of Art was created in 1937 for the people of the United States of America by a joint resolution of Congress, accepting the gift of financier and art collector Andrew W. Mellon.
Federal Communications Commission's History Project Online exhibits include topics like Radio Pioneers and Core Technologies
Public Moving Image Archives and Research Center and the National Film Preservation Foundation, an independent nonprofit organization to support the film preservation efforts of American film archives, historical societies and similar institutions since its establishment by the United States Congress in 1996.
The Thomas Edison National Historical Park includes pictures, articles and bibliographies for America's most prolific inventor. Also, check out the Recorded Sound Archive of approximately 28,000 disc phonograph records, 11,000 cylinder phonograph records, and 9800 disc metal molds.
Education Department web page especially for students.
Human Genome Project resources for educators.
College Drinking Prevention website from the National Institute for Health (NIH) and National Institute Alcohol Abuse Alcoholism (NIAAA)
The Nation's Report Card from the National Center for Education Statistics
The Library of Congress Learning Page for Teachers
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Engineering Design Challenge-Lesson Plan for Teachers
Department of Energy's SciConnect "Your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy."
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Digital Library a collection of photographs and other images provided to visually communicate programs, projects, and events of the US Army Corps of Engineers.
Nation Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) is an independent grant-making agency of the United States government dedicated to supporting research, education, preservation, and public programs in the humanities.
National Archives and Records Administration Ready access to essential evidence, the national archives offer primary sources for many topics in history, from genealogy to Watergate.
The Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey (HABS/HAER/HALS) documents important architectural, engineering and industrial sites throughout the United States and its territories.
The Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) is an independent federal agency of the Executive Branch of the U.S. Government that fosters leadership, innovation, and a lifetime of learning by supporting the nation's museums and libraries.
Science.gov connects you to U.S. Government Science and Technology
T he U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) provides access to a wealth of energy, science, and technology research and development (R&D) information from the Manhattan Project to the present.
Human Genome Project www.ornl.gov/hgmis/research/research.shtml
Federal Statistics The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies
Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service The Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, created in 1947, is an independent agency whose mission is to preserve and promote labor-management peace and cooperation. Headquartered in Washington, DC, with five regional offices and more than 70 field offices, the agency provides mediation and conflict resolution services to industry, government agencies and communities.