Voting and Elections
U.S. Government Sites
-
Federal Election Commission
- The FEC administers and enforces the Federal Election Campaign Act. The site contains campaign
finance and election information.
-
-
Federal Voting Assistance Program.
- Includes a
Voting Assistance
Guide for each state.
-
-
First Gov - Voting and Elections
- This site has links to sites on registering to vote, absentee voting, the electoral process,
campaign financing and reform, contacting elected officials, absentee ballots, voting districts,
volunteering and more.
-
-
National Archives and Records Administration
- NARA coordinates the functioning of the
Electoral College through
the
Office of the Federal Register.
-
-
The National Mail Voter Registration Form
- The form enables you to register to vote from anywhere in the United States.
-
-
Office of the Clerk of the House of Representatives
- Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for
federal elections.
-
-
Government Printing Office
- The Government Printing Office offers a subject bibliography of available materials related to
voting and elections.
-
-
The United States Census Bureau
- The Census Bureau collects information on reported
voting and registration by
various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics.
-
-
Voting and Elections Pathfinder
- This pathfinder is part of the Government Printing Office's "Browse Topics Index."
-
-
State of Illinois Sites
Illinois State Board of Elections
The Illinois State Board of Elections site provides data on campaign disclosures, such as
campaign financial information; elections information, including election totals and candidate
filing information; and voting information, such as how to vote and how to register to vote in
Illinois.
Nongovernmental Sites
-
Elections
This site from the Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association
includes current federal and international election information.
-
-
The Bell
- The mission of the Bell is to contribute to the public dialogue on Internet voting
as well as to lead discussions on collaborative decision-making in general. The Bell intends to
provide high-quality, non-partisan, timely and useful information regarding privacy, security,
technology, voting, their markets and relevant policy issues.
-
-
Caltech-MIT Voting Technology Project
- The Voting Technology Project was established in 2000 to prevent a reoccurrence to the problems
that occurred during the 2000 Presidential election. The site contains information on voting
machines, including maps of voting equipment used by counties and an assessment of the reliability
of voting machines.
-
-
The Center for Responsive Politics
- The Center for Responsive Politics is a non-partisan, non-profit that tracks money in politics
and it effect on elections. The center maintains
opensecrets.org, which allows users to find out who's
giving money to politicians and political parties.
-
-
League of Women Voters
- The LWV is a grassroots organization that provides a variety of tools that help citizens get
involved with the democratic process.
Vote411
Compiled by the League of Women Voters. Includes election information needs, national
polling place locator, voter registration tips, important dates and information by state.
National Journal

This is the gateway to the National Journal's various publications. Some of these publications
are also listed separately below.
National
Journal Magazine

The National Journal is a weekly publication covering politics, policy and government.
National
Journal Daily

This nonpartisan Congressional news service is published twice-daily.
The
Hotline

This daily publication tracks American politics and political campaigns.
QQ Electronic
Library

CQ's gateway for a number of publications that cover politics. These publications are also
listed below.
The
CQ Researcher

This publication provides in-depth analysis on the most current and controversial issues of the
day.
CQ
Weekly

This source covers current Congressional news and bill status.
-
-
Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
- Provides maps of past presidential elections from 1789 to present.
-
-
Project Vote Smart
- Project Vote Smart offers information on political candidates, campaign finances, special
interest groups, voting records, and a wealth of other information pertaining to elections and
voting. From the non-profit organization The Center for National Independence in Politics.
-
-
The PBS Democracy Project
- Provides resources for teachers, historical information on the history of voting in America,
and a
kids section that helps teach democratic
principles to children in grades three to six.
-
-
The Election Center
- The Election Center is a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting, preserving, and
improving democracy. Its members are government employees whose profession is to serve in voter
registration and elections administration.
-
-
The Constitution Project
- The Constitution Project is a bipartisan nonprofit organization that seeks consensus on
controversial legal and constitutional issues through a unique combination of scholarship and
activism.
-
-
Student
Voter ID Requirements
- The website has a map and shows where student id cards are acceptable for voting.
International Sites
-
Electoral Assistance Division of the UN
Department of Political Affairs
- This site has comprehensive information about the UN's role in assisting international
elections.
-
-
The National Democratic Institute
- The National Democratic Institute (NDI) is a nonprofit organization working to strengthen and
expand democracy worldwide. The NDI works in a number of countries to help establish free and fair
elections.
-
-
The Carter Center Democracy
Program
- The program works worldwide for the development of democratic societies as the best way to
promote human rights, achieve sustainable economic development, and resolve conflicts peacefully.
The Carter Center helps to achieve these goals by providing election-monitoring in a number of
nations.
Contact Us
Government Information Services, Access and Collections
450-F Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, Illinois 61801
Phone: (217) 244-4621
E-mail GovInfo
Facebook
People
Mary Mallory, Coordinator, Government Information Services, Access and Collections, University
Library
Karen Hogenboom, Numeric and
Spatial Data Librarian, Scholarly Commons
Stephanie Martin, Graduate Assistant, Government Information