Earth Sciences
Agriculture
United States Department of Agriculture
-
United States Department of Agriculture The
USDA strives to enhance the quality of life for the American people by supporting production of
agriculture: ensuring a safe, affordable, nutritious, and accessible food supply, caring for
agricultural, forest, and range lands, supporting sound development of rural communities, providing
economic opportunities for farm and rural residents, expanding global markets for agricultural and
forest products and services, and working to reduce hunger in America and throughout the world.
USDA Vision: A healthy and productive Nation in harmony with the land. The seven mission areas of
the USDA are:
-
What's New
-
Browse USDA by Subject
-
USDA Agricultural Research Service ARS conducts research to
develop and transfer solutions to agricultural problems of high national priority and provides
information access and dissemination to ensure high-quality, safe food and other agricultural
products, assess the nutritional needs of Americans, sustain a competitive agricultural economy,
enhance the natural resource base and the environment, and provide economic opportunities for rural
citizens, communities, and society as a whole.
-
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service The APHIS
mission is an integral part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) efforts to provide the
Nation with safe and affordable food. Without APHIS protecting America's animal and plant resources
from agricultural pests and diseases, threats to our food supply would be quite significant.
-
Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration
The United States Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards
Administration (GIPSA) facilitates the marketing of livestock, poultry, meat, cereals, oilseeds,
and related agricultural products, and promotes fair and competitive trading practices for the
overall benefit of consumers and American agriculture.
-
Farm Service Agency Stabilizing farm income,
helping farmers conserve land and water resources, providing credit to new or disadvantaged farmers
and ranchers, and helping farm operations recover from the effects of disaster are the missions of
the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Farm Service Agency (FSA).
-
Food Safety and Inspection Service
-
Center for Nutrition Policy Promotion The Center for
Nutrition Policy and Promotion carries out its mission by: developing and coordinating nutrition
policy within the USDA, investigating techniques for effective nutrition communication for
Americans, evaluating the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply, and documenting the amount of
nutrients which are available to American consumers.
-
Food and Nutrition Service FNS increases food security
and reduces hunger in partnership with cooperating organizations by providing children and
low-income people access to food, a healthful diet, and nutrition education in a manner that
supports American agriculture and inspires public confidence.
-
Rural Development-Rural Business-Cooperative Service
The mission of the Rural Business-Cooperative Service is to enhance the quality of life for rural
Americans by providing leadership in building competitive businesses including sustainable
cooperatives that can prosper in the global marketplace.
-
USDA Foriegn Agriculture Service The Foreign Agricultural
Service (FAS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) works to improve foreign market access
for U.S. products. FAS operates programs designed to build new markets and improve the competitive
position of U.S. agriculture in the global marketplace.
-
National Agricultural Library (NAL)
-
AGRICOLA AGRICOLA is short for Agricultural Online
Access, and is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the
National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. The records describe publications and resources
encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary
sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming
systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and
environmental sciences.
-
NALDR NALDR is short for the National Agricultural
Library's Digital Repository and provides access to publications digitized by or through the NAL.
The USDA published many of the documents now available, and publications are added on a daily
basis.
-
National Agricultural Statistics Service The NASS
mission is to provide timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U. S. agriculture.
-
The History of American Agriculture
United States House Committee on Agriculture
-
Agriculture.house.gov This is the homepage for the US
House committee on agriculture, and from here users can locate information on what the House of
Representatives is working on in regards to agriculture. Users can search the site, locate
information on hearings and committee members, as well as keep current on news, events, and
legislation.
Agriculture Network Information Center
-
AgNIC-Agriculture Network Information Center AgNIC is a guide
to quality agricultural information on the Internet as selected by the National Agricultural
Library, Land-Grant Universities, and other institutions. Users can use the search option or browse
by subject.
Agriculture Images
-
Agriculture Images (IPM Images) The overall objective of
IPMImages.org is: to provide an accessible and easily used archive of high quality images related
to agriculture and pest management, with particular emphasis on educational applications.
WWW Virtual Library-Agriculture
*
WWWVL's Agriculture Site Index *
-
WWW Virtual Library-Agriculture This is a thorough
compendium of agriculture resources and information. The site is easy to use, and features a
detailed site index for selecting information areas.
Consultative Group on International Agriculture Research
*
CGIAR's Site Index*
-
Consultative Group on International Agriculture Research The
mission of CGIAR is to contribute to food security and poverty eradication in developing countries
through research, partnerships, capacity building, and policy support, promoting sustainable
agricultural development based on the environmentally sound management of natural resources.
-
Agricultural Science and Technology Indicators This page
contains links to international Agricultural Science and Technology Indicators (ASTI) information,
statistics, publications, country profiles, and reports.
-
Research The CGIAR's research focuses
on crop productivity, forestry and agroforestry, water management, aquaculture, and livestock. Each
fact sheet includes key data on each crop and research area. It also provides information about the
CGIAR's work and investment in the field.
Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy
-
Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy The Institute for
Agriculture and Trade Policy promotes resilient family farms, rural communities and ecosystems
around the world through research and education, science and technology, and advocacy.
Sustainable Agriculture Network
-
Sustainable Agriculture Network SAN is the communications and
outreach arm of the Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE) program. SARE is a U.S.
Department of Agriculture-funded initiative that sponsors competitive grants for sustainable
agriculture research and education in a regional process nationwide. SAN is dedicated to the
exchange of scientific and practical information on sustainable agriculture systems using a variety
of printed and electronic communications tools.
International Federation of Organic Agriculture Movements
-
International Federation of Organic Agriculture Movements The
federation's main function is coordinating the network of the organic movement around the world.
IFOAM is a democratic federation and grassroot oriented. Major activities within IFOAM are carried
out by our World Board of Directors, various committees and task forces.
Conservation
Environmental Protection Agency
-
Environmental Protection Agency Home
-
Cleaner Water Through Conservation This document
explains the relationship between the quantity of water and its quality and discusses how
developing water-use efficiency programs can help states and local communities achieve cleaner
water through conserving water.
-
Energy Star Products
ENERGY STAR offers businesses and consumers energy efficient solutions -- helping to save money
while protecting the environment for future generations.
-
Environmental Management The
Agency offers guidance and assistance in developing and maintaining Environmental Management
Systems and Environmental Auditing and Accounting systems that enable managers to assess their
environmental performance and determine actual costs involved in managing waste. EPA guidance also
is available to assist manufacturers in pollution prevention efforts such as adopting more
efficient manufacturing processes and recycling used materials.
-
Pollution Prevention Pollution
prevention is reducing or eliminating waste at the source by modifying production processes,
promoting the use of non-toxic or less-toxic substances, implementing conservation techniques, and
re-using materials rather than putting them into the waste stream. EPA has a number programs
designed to educate manufacturers on industrial processes that prevent pollution by saving energy,
encourage environmentally preferable purchasing, and provide technical assistance to state agencies
and businesses.
Natural Resource Conservation Service
*
NRCS Site Map*
-
Natural Resource Conservation Service The Natural Resources
Conservation Service provides leadership in a partnership effort to help people conserve, maintain,
and improve our natural resources and environment.
Farm Service Agency
-
Farm
Service Agency-Conservation We promote the mission of the Farm Service Agency by efficiently
administering programs and activities to protect the economic stability of American farmers, to
ensure a stable and healthy supply of food and fiber, and to promote the conservation of natural
resources including our land, water, air, wildlife, and elements of historic value.
Plant Conservation Alliance
*
PCA Site Index*
-
Plant Conservation Alliance The PCA is a consortium of ten
federal government Member agencies and over 145 non-federal Cooperators representing various
disciplines within the conservation field. PCA Members and Cooperators work collectively to solve
the problems of native plant extinction and native habitat restoration, ensuring the preservation
of our ecosystem. From this link you can access general information, meetings and calendar events,
online communication information, projects, grants and funding, celebrating wildflowers, native
plant landscaping guides and websites, and publications and articles.
- Working Groups
Library of Congress
-
The Evolution of the Conservation
Movement 1850-1920 The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920 documents the
historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's
natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs,
and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress.
-
Conservation and Environment Maps
The historic and more recent maps contained in this category show early exploration and subsequent
land use in various areas of the United States. These maps show the changes in the landscape,
including natural and man-made features, recreational and wilderness areas, geology, topography,
wetland area, vegetation, and wildlife. Specific conservation projects such as the growth and
development of U.S. National Parks are included in this category.
Forestry
USDA Forest Service
-
USDA Forest Service Established in 1905, the Forest Service is
an agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The Forest Service manages public lands in
national forests and grasslands.
US Senate Committe on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry
-
US Senate Committee on Agricutlure, Nutrition, and
Forestry Our committee is committed to bringing strength and prosperity back to farm families
and rural communities. This site has been developed to provide you with up-to-date information
about the Committee. Feel free to explore our site to find out about upcoming hearings as well as
read the transcripts of past committee hearings. This site also offers easy access to issues and
legislation before the Committee.
AGRICOLA
-
AGRICOLA AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a
machine-readable database of bibliographic records created by the National Agricultural Library and
its cooperators. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database
covers materials dating from the 16th century to the present. The records describe publications and
resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and
animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics,
agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and
nutrition.
National Association of State Foresters
-
National Association of State Foresters The National
Association of State Foresters is a non-profit organization that represents the directors of the
State Forestry agencies from all fifty states, eight U.S. territories (American Samoa, the
Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, the Northern Marianas Islands, Palau, Puerto Rico, Republic
of the Marshall Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands), and the District of Columbia.
World Dictionary of Trees
-
World Dictionary of Trees This database currently has
information on the trees of North America, the other geographic areas are still under construction.
This database offers a searchable feature that retreives information about the world's trees. In
addition, abbreviation lists are offered for better understanding of the terminology and
abbreviations used.
TreeBASE.org
-
TreeBASE.org TreeBASE is a relational
database designed to manage and explore information on phylogenetic relationships (Sanderson et
al., 1993, 1994; Donoghue, 1994; Donoghue and Ackerly, 1996; Piel et al., 1996; Morel, 1996; Piel
et al., 2000). Its main function is to store published phylogenetic trees and data matrices. It
also includes bibliographic information on phylogenetic studies, and some details on taxa,
characters, algorithms used, and analyses performed.
Treelink
-
Treelink.org This site was created to provide information,
research, and networking for people working in urban and community forestry. For the researcher,
the arborist, the community group leader, the volunteer-our purpose is to inform, educate, and
inspire.
WWW Virtual Library-Forestry
-
WWW Virtual Library-Forestry This virtual
library contains links for information about forestry and two sub catagories, Forest Genetics and
Tree Breeding, and Soils and Substrates. Here you can link to publications, databases,
organizations, and other related sites.
Forest History Society
-
Forest History Society Homepage The Forest History
Society links the past to the future by identifying, collecting, preserving, interpreting, and
disseminating information on the history of interactions between people, forests, and their related
resources - timber, water, soil, forage, fish and wildlife, recreation, and scenic or spiritual
values. The focus is from a North American perspective within a global context.
The Bugwood Network
-
The Bugwood Network The Mission of The Bugwood Work Group is
to gather, create, maintain, promote the use of, and economically distribute digital information
both as resources and as tools to enhance and complement information exchange and educational
activities primarily in the fields of entomology, forestry, forest health and natural resources.
Forestry Images
-
Forestry Images The overall objective of
ForestryImages.org is: to provide an accessible and easily used archive of high quality images
related to forest health and silviculture, with particular emphasis on educational
applications.
ForestryIndex.net
-
ForestryIndex.net This website was developed to be used by
timberland owners, as well as a reference source for accountants, attorneys, consulting foresters
and other professionals who work with timberland owners by answering specific questions regarding
the tax treatment of timber.
Center for International Forestry Research
*
CIFOR's Site Index*
-
Center for International Forestry Research CIFOR is a
global knowledge organisation committed to enhancing the benefits of forests for people in the
tropics. CIFOR was established under the Consultative Group on International Agriculture Research
(CGIAR) system in response to global concerns about the social, environmental and economic
consequences of loss and degradation of forests.
Society of American Foresters
-
Society of American Foresters The Society of American
Foresters (SAF) is the national scientific and educational organization representing the forestry
profession in the United States. The mission of the Society of American Foresters is to advance the
science, education, technology, and practice of forestry; to enhance the competency of its members;
to establish professional excellence; and, to use the knowledge, skills, and conservation ethic of
the profession to ensure the continued health and use of forest ecosystems and the present and
future availability of forest resources to benefit society.
The Forestry Forum
-
The Forestry Forum This is an
open forum for the discussion of forestry and forestry related topics.
Geography
United States Geological Survey
*
Index of USGS Web Sites*
-
USGS Geology This page is the home Web site for
the Geologic Division of the U.S. Geological Survey. The Division's chief function is to carry out
geologic and mineral resource surveys and mapping for the Department of the Interior.
-
USGS Fact Sheets Fact Sheets are used to
disseminate timely information on scientific and technical programs of the U.S. Geological Survey.
SUDOC I 19.127
-
USGS National Geologic Map Database This page can help you
find information about maps and related data for: geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics,
geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology.
-
Geologic Research Activities by Geographic
Location This page offers a map of the United States. Clicking on a state will take you to the
state's information on conducted USGS geological research.
-
USGS Geologic Information By Theme This is a
handy list of information, links, and resources listed by theme.
-
US Geological Survey Library The USGS Library is the largest
earth science library in the world. The library serves the research needs of USGS scientists
throughout the nation and provides information to other organizations and individuals in the areas
of geology, hydrology, cartography, biology, and related fields.
USGS Geologic Hazards Programs
-
USGS Earthquake Hazards Program The USGS Earthquake
Hazards Program (EHP) of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) is part of the National Earthquake
Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) lead by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The USGS
role in NEHRP is to provide Earth sciences information and products for earthquake loss reduction.
-
USGS Volcano Hazards Program This page lists information
about volcanos and volcanic research information.
-
USGS Geologic Hazards, Landslides This site
offers information about the nature and dangers of geologic landslides.
-
USGS Global Change Research, Earth Surface Dynamics
USGS Global Change Research activities strive to achieve a whole-system understanding of the
interrelationships among earth surface processes, ecological systems, and human activities.
USGS Coastal and Marine Geology Programs
-
USGS Coastal and Marine Geology Program The USGS Coastal and
Marine Geology Program conducts research and provides data on the critical interface between land
and sea and on the continental margins out to the limit of the US Exclusive Economic Zone.
-
Sound Waves-Monthly Newsletter Sound Waves is
a monthly newsletter containing information about coastal science and research news from across the
USGS. Online from January 1999 to present.
-
Topics of Study This is a page with links to the
different areas of study with the Coastal and Marine Geology Program. Included here is a search
feature.
-
Coastal and Marine Issues This is
a link to information about the issues involved with the USGS Coastal and Marine Geology
Program.
-
Research Projects This page lists the various
research projects being conducted by the USGS Coastal and Marine Geology Program.
USGS Mineral Resources Program
-
USGS Mineral Resources Program The Mineral Resources
Program provides and communicates current, impartial information on the occurrence, quality,
quantity, and availability of mineral resources.
-
Minerals Publications and Data Products Listed
here are links and information about the different publications and data that are produced by the
USGS Mineral Resources Program.
-
Mineral Resource Activities in the
Upper Midwest This page links to information regarding mineral resource surveys and assesment
for the upper midwest area.
-
Minerals Information Team The USGS
Minerals Information Team's mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate information on the
domestic and international supply of and demand for minerals and mineral materials essential to the
U.S. economy and national security.
-
Mineral Industry Surveys
Mineral Industry Surveys (MIS) are periodic statistical and economic publications designed to
provide timely statistical data on production, distribution, stocks, and consumption of significant
mineral commodities. SUDOC I 19.160
-
Minerals Yearbook The Minerals
Yearbook is an annual publication that reviews the mineral and material industries of the United
States and foreign countries. The Yearbook contains statistical data on materials and minerals and
includes information on economic and technical trends and development. SUDOC I 19.165
-
Commodity Statistics and
Information Statistics and information on the worldwide supply, demand, and flow of minerals
and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the
environment. SUDOC I 19.166
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
*
Index of NOAA Web Sites*
-
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration This page is the
home Website for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. The Division's chief function
is to describe and predict changes in the Earth's environment, and conserve and wisely manage the
Nation's coastal and marine resources. NOAA also has a number of geology related resources.
-
Topography
-
National Geodetic Survey NGS works to
better understand the consequences of plate tectonics.
-
National Geophysical Data Center The NOAA NESDIS mission is
to provide and ensure timely access to global environmental data from satellites and other sources
to promote, protect, and enhance the Nation's economy, security, environment, and quality of
life.
-
Marine Geology and Geophysics NGDC and the
collocated World Data Center for Marine Geology & Geophysics, Boulder, compile, maintain,
archive, and distribute data from extensive databases in both coastal and open ocean areas.
-
Oil and Hazardous Materials Spills The
National Ocean Service fulfills the stewardship responsibilities assigned to the Secretary of
Commerce for protecting and restoring coastal resources threatened by releases of oil and other
hazardous materials.
-
NOAA Mapfinder The NOS MapFinder service provides "one
stop shopping" for images and data from a number of National Ocean Service (NOS) offices.
-
Undersea Volcanoes-Vents Program The Pacific
Marine Environmental Laboratory researches the effect of underwater hydrothermal venting
systems.
-
Geomagnetics This site offers extensive
geomagnetic data and information.
National Park Service
-
National Park Service This page is the home Website for the
National Park Service. The National park Service preserves unimpaired the natural and cultural
resources and values of the national park system for the enjoyment, education, and inspiration of
this and future generations.
-
NPS Park Geology This site provides information on the
National Park Service's programs in geology and minerals management.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
-
National Aeronautics and Space Administration This page is the
home Website for the NASA. NASA is the leading authority in space information, as well as other
important information.
-
NASA's
Planetary Geology Geology is a science that deals with the history of the earth and its life,
especially as recorded in rocks. This area features NASA's studies of the earth's crust and global
change.
Oceanography
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association
*
NOAA Site Map*
-
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association NOAA's Mission is
to describe and predict changes in the Earth's environment, and conserve and wisely manage the
Nation's coastal and marine resources.
- NOAA Departments:
Weather|
Ocean|
Satellites|
Fisheries|
Climate|
Research|
Coasts|
Charting and Navigation
-
NOAA Magazine A Monthly Feature Publication of NOAA-
The Stories Behind the Headlines
-
NOAA Report A monthly publication for NOAA
employees from the office of public affairs. This resource is also a great way to keep up on
current events in NOAA. SUDOC C 55.53:
What is SUDOC?
-
NOAA's Library The library has an extensive collection of
historical Coast and Geodetic Survey materials (from 1807) and Weather Bureau materials (from the
1830's), including foreign meteorological data. These materials include historical meteorological
data, information on instruments, and metadata. These materials have proved critical for NOAA
studies of previous weather and oceanographic conditions. Recent examples include research on the
1982-3 El Niño, development of a flood model for the Nile River, and predictions of 1993 mid-west
floods.
-
NOAA's Coral Reefs Welcome to NOAA's Coral Reef
online. Here you can find a wealth of information about coral reefs, the rain forests of the sea.
Dive in and see nature's treasures in the ocean.
-
NOAA Coastal Services Center The mission of the NOAA Coastal
Services Center is to support the environmental, social, and economic well being of the coast by
linking people, information, and technology.
-
Marine Weather This page offers links to different
pages pertaining to marine weather. SUDOC C 55.108: W37
-
The Office of Response and Restoration Here are
tools and information for emergency responders and planners, and others working to understand and
mitigate the effects of oil and hazardous materials in our waters and along our coasts.
-
Argo Argo is a global array of 3,000 free-drifting
profiling floats that will measure the temperature and salinity of the upper 2000 meters of the
ocean. This will allow continuous monitoring of the climate state of the ocean, with all data being
relayed and made publicly available within hours after collection.
-
Aquarius Aquarius is the world's only underwater
laboratory operational in our world's oceans. Located adjacent to the coral reef in the Florida
Keys National Marine Sanctuary, Aquarius is owned and funded by NOAA.
-
-
Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory *
AOML's Site Index*
-
Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory The
Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory's (AOML) mission is to conduct basic and
applied research in oceanography, tropical meteorology, atmospheric and oceanic chemistry, and
acoustics. The research seeks to understand the physical characteristics and processes of the ocean
and the atmosphere, both separately and as a coupled system.
-
Ocean & Climate
AOML Oceans and Climate research is critical to the understanding and predicting seasonal to
decadal shifts in weather patterns and for studying the dynamical processes in the global
ocean/atmosphere coupled system. AOML scientists monitor and study fluxuations in currents of
global oceans and their relationship to climatic events ranging from US rainfall rates to hurricane
development.
-
Coastal &
Regional AOML Coastal Research is important in assessing the current and future affect of human
activities on our coastal to deep ocean and atmospheric environments. Research projects range from
salinity monitoring in Florida Bay to measuring rainfall using underwater acoustic devices.
-
Hurricanes AOML Hurricane
Research aims to improve forecasts and advance the basic physical understanding of hurricanes and
tropical meteorology. A key aspect of AOML's Hurricane Research is its annual program of research
flights aboard reconnaissance aircraft (two WP-3D turboprops and a new Gulfstream IV SP jet) flown
by NOAA's Aircraft Operations Center.
-
-
NOAA's Ocean Explorer *
NOAA's Ocean Explorer Site Index*
-
NOAA's Ocean Explorer This Web site chronicles the
adventures of NOAA's at-sea science and education teams. Retrace their 2001 explorations, dive into
the multimedia gallery, read about NOAA's ocean exploration history, or visit other pages.
-
NOAA's Ocean
Explorer-Explorations NOAA's 2001 field season was filled with discovery. Revisit the
adventures of our explorers on these pages, and stay tuned for more explorations in 2002.
-
NOAA's Ocean Explorer-Projects
Follow a variety of projects specifically designed to enhance our set of exploration tools.
-
NOAA's Ocean Explorer-Gallery Each
of NOAA's expeditions will offer a rich collection of images. Some will provide video and audio.
These pages will present a few of the best.
-
NOAA's Ocean
Explorer-Technology This section of the Ocean Explorer Web site highlights the technologies
that make today's explorations possible.
-
NOAA's Ocean Explorer-History In
these pages, we trace NOAA's history of ocean exploration and that of its forerunners to the
present day.
-
NOAA's Ocean Explorer-Library The
purpose of the library is to provide a rich offering of resources significant to NOAA's historical
and current ocean exploration activities. Resources include Web sites, historical books and
documents, expedition reports, and journal articles. The library is composed of three collections:
NOAA Exploration Offices, Publications, and Historical Documents.
National Oceanographic Data Center
*
NODC Site Map*
-
National Oceanographic Data Center The National
Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) is one of three NOAA environmental data centers, and serves as a
national repository and dissemination facility for global ocean data.
National Ocean Service
*
NOS Site Map*
-
National Ocean Service The National Ocean Service's mission
statement is "To be the Nation's principal advocate for coastal and ocean stewardship through
partnerships at all levels, and to support and provide the science, information, management, and
leadership necessary to balance the environmental and economic well-being of the Nation's coastal
resources and communities."
-
Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and
Services The National Ocean Service (NOS) Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and
Services (CO-OPS) collects and distributes observations and predictions of water levels and
currents to ensure safe, efficient and environmentally sound maritime commerce. The Center provides
the set of water level and coastal current products required to support NOS' Strategic Plan mission
requirements, and to assist in providing operational oceanographic data/products required by NOAA's
other Strategic Plan themes.
-
Tides Online This site offers data from the nation's
water level stations. Data includes up-to-date temperature and height information, as well as
stations experiencing storm surges. Historical data is available here, as well.
-
Physical Oceanographic Real-Time Systems
The Physical Oceanographic Real-Time System (PORTS®) is a program of the National Ocean Service
that supports safe and cost-efficient navigation by providing ship masters and pilots with accurate
real-time information required to avoid groundings and collisions.
-
Water Level Tidal Predictions This system
will allow you to obtain tidal predictions for more than 3000 tide stations predicted by
CO-OPS.
-
Water Level Observation Retreival Data
This page allows you to retreive water level data and other observations from the US and around the
World.
-
Publications Many NOS publications are
available online and can be accessed here. Other links contain citation and abstract information,
as well as information on where to locate the physical publication
-
Marine Protected Areas Executive Order 13158 defines
marine protected areas (MPAs) as "any area of the marine environment that has been reserved by
Federal, State, territorial, tribal, or local laws or regulations to provide lasting protection for
part or all of the natural and cultural resources therein." There are many different types of MPAs
in U.S. waters. Marine protected areas, in combination with other management efforts, are valuable
tools to help preserve the nation's ocean and coastal resources, and ensure their future
sustainable use by present and future generations.
-
NOS Mapfinder The NOS MapFinder service provides "one
stop shopping" for images and data from a number of National Ocean Service (NOS) offices.
National Science Foundation Division of Ocean Sciences
*
NSF Geosciences Site Map and Search*
-
NSF Division of Ocean Sciences The Division of
Ocean Sciences (OCE) supports basic research and education to further understanding of all aspects
of the global oceans and their interactions with the earth and the atmosphere. The division also
offers opportunities to participate in global change research programs and other focus
programs.
Weather
National Weather Service
*
NWS Site Index*
-
National Weather Service The National Weather Service
TM (NWS) provides weather, hydrologic, and climate forecasts and warnings for the United
States, its territories, adjacent waters and ocean areas, for the protection of life and property
and the enhancement of the national economy. NWS data and products form a national information
database and infrastructure which can be used by other governmental agencies, the private sector,
the public, and the global community.
-
-
Interactive Weather
Information Network The coolest weather on the Internet! This site is designed for high speed
users, and automatically updates itself every five minutes to keep you current! The site contains
numerous satellite maps in motion, local, national, and world-wide weather information, graphics,
links, and more.
-
NWS Internet Weather Source This is a handy resource list of
links related to weather. Users can locate local forecasts and current observations, as well as
peruse weather maps, radar graphics, international weather, and specialized weather
information.
-
NWS Climate Prediction Center This site explores how
the NWS predicts our climate. Outlooks and forecasts for droughts, hazards, and general weather, as
well as information on data collection and observatories, El Nino/La Nina, and numerous links to
related data is contained here.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
*
NOAA Site Index*
-
NOAA Weather This is the homepage for all of the various
NOAA weather related sites. NOAA is the Mother of all weather data, so this is a good place to go
if you aren't finding what you need. Examples of information from this site include:
-
National Climatic Data Center The worlds
largest archive of weather data! This database is very comprehensive, and offers an incredible
amount of information.
-
Clues from Climatology:
When and Where do Tornadoes Occur? This page explains how Tornadoes occur, and talks about the
infamous Tornado Alley. Included are charts and graphs, as well as links to further
information.
NASA
-
NASA's Home Page NASA does a lot of research into the Earth's
atmosphere and weather from space.
-
What Controls
the Weather? This is a nice summary explanation of how weather works.
-
Earth Observatory The purpose of NASA's Earth
Observatory is to provide a freely-accessible publication on the Internet where the public can
obtain new satellite imagery and scientific information about our home planet. The focus is on
Earth's climate and environmental change.
-
Goddard Institute for Space Studies Welcome to the Goddard
Institute for Space Studies (GISS) at Columbia University in New York City. GISS is a division of
the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Earth Sciences Directorate and a unit of the Columbia Earth
Institute. Research at GISS emphasizes a broad study of global climate change.
-
El Nino Watch from Space
-
WWW Virtual Library-Meteorology This
is a through list of Internet information, data, and resources pertaining to meteorology.
Programs for Climate Model Diagnostics and Intercomparison
USDA Joint Agricultural Weather Facility
-
USDA Joint Agricultural Weather Facility Created
in 1978, the primary mission of the JAWF is to routinely collect global weather data and
agricultural information to determine the impact of growing season weather conditions on crops and
livestock production prospects.
American Meteorological Society
-
American Meteorological Society The American
Meteorological Society promotes the development and dissemination of information and education on
the atmospheric and related oceanic and hydrologic sciences.
National Center for Atmospheric Research
-
National Center for Atmospheric Research The National
Center for Atmospheric Research, NCAR, was established in 1960 to serve as a focus for research on
atmospheric and related science problems and is recognized for its scientific contributions to our
understanding of the earth system, including climate change, changes in atmospheric composition,
Earth-Sun interactions, weather formation and forecasting, and the impacts of all of these
components on human societies.
Mount Washington Observatory
*
Site Index*
-
Mount Washington Observatory The most extreme weather
in the world occurs at the Mount Washington Observatory. Click here to experience what it's like
standing near the top of the world! Learn about current weather conditions, read logs posted by
inhabitants of the observatory, and more.