Life in the Cold Zone: The Alaska Native
Who Are Alaska Natives? Exploring Language,
Culture, and Traditions
Arctic Studies Center
- A Smithsonian site devoted to the history of northern peoples, cultures and environments.
Contains online exhibits, research, and additional resources.
National Museum of the American Indian
- Provides online exhibits; education; information on outreach and events; and a list of
collections, archives, film and video. Contains information about current exhibits at its
three sites in New York City, D.C., and Suitland, MD.
Atanarjuat/The Fast Runner-Native Networks
Atanarjuat/The Fast Runner is the first Native-language film to be written, directed and
acted by the Inuit. An action thriller set in pre-contact Igloolik in what is now Arctic
Canada, the film unfolds as a life-threatening struggle between powerful natural and supernatural
characters. Native Networks contains a list of titles shown at the Native American Film and
Native American Authors
- The Internet Public Library provides a database of Native North American authors with
bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources
including interviews, online texts and tribal websites. Searchable by author, title and
Alaska Native and the US Government
- High-level intergovernmental forum that provides a mechanism to address the common concerns and
challenges faced by the Arctic governments and the peoples of the Arctic.
Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act Resource Center
- This site includes reference materials relating to the
Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act ("ANCSA") divided into topics: Laws,
Regulations, Administrative Actions, Proposed Legislation, Cases, Articles, Government
Publications, Agreements, and Native Corporation Links.
American Indian and Alaskan Native Data and Links
- US Census Bureau data for the 2010, 2000, and 1990 census. Categories include tribes,
reservations, rankings and comparisons, maps, American Community survey, population projections,
and economic data.
U.S. Department of the Interior
Library: Tribal Governments
- Contains links to categories related to Native Americans, including ancestry, benefits,
education, law enforcement, and more.
US Department of Interior Indian Arts and Crafts Board
- Provides promotional opportunities, general business advice, and information on the Indian Arts
and Crafts Act to Native American artists, craftspeople, businesses, museums, and cultural centers
of federally recognized Tribes.
Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act
- Provides a process for museums and Federal agencies to return certain Native American cultural
items -- human remains, funerary objects, sacred objects, and objects of cultural patrimony.
Bureau of Indian Affairs
- Provides links to Bureau of Indian Affairs press releases, Depart. of Interior links, other US
government agencies, inter-tribal organizations, environmental links, cultural links, and
Alaska Native Law
National Indian Law Library
- A public law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. Contains a catalog of
10,000+ information sources searchable by an online database. Access to Indian Law Bulletins
provide up-to-date developments in Indian law and U.S. court decisions. Tribal Law Collection
makes available codes, constitutions, and intergovernmental agreements.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
- A compilation of laws and treaties between the U.S. government and American Indian tribes:
(Laws Compiled to January 13, 1971; Treaties, 1778-1883).
Native American Legal Resources-University of Oklahoma Law School
- Contains the American Indian Law Review; the Native American Constitution and Law Digitization
Project; and links to additional resources.
American Indian Law-Cornell Law School
- Outlines the U.S. Constitution, Federal Statutes, Federal Regulations, and Historic and Recent
Judicial Decisions as they pertain to American Indians, Native Alaskans, and Native Hawaiians.