Institute of Development Studies
Hosts the
Eldis database, which provides access to
100,000 Web pages and 10,000 full-text studies.
International Fund for Agricultural Development
Focuses on the programs and projects of IFAD, which works to eliminate rural hunger and
poverty in developing countries.
International Monetary Fund
The strength of the IMF site is its full-text studies and reports, thousands of which are
organized by country on its Country Information page. This is not an outstanding source of
statistics.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Provides hundreds of free online publications on topics in economic and social development,
in addition to more than 4,000 that can be purchased. This site also presents a broad assortment of
statistics.
United Nations Division for Sustainable
Development
Under
National Information, the DSD brings
together broad and detailed social, economic, institutional, and environmental data.
United Nations Conference on
Trade and Development
The most useful aspects of this site are its project pages.
UN Women
Includes news and studies related to women's rights, women's economic empowerment, and
increasing women's role in the decision-making processes affecting their lives.
United Nations Development Program
Although this site includes hundreds of full-text reports and studies, its strength is its
descriptions of UNDP programs. It is not an exceptional statistical source.
United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
This site, which is for the most part arranged by development issue, provides links to
excellent regional sites on information technology, gender, governance, and regional
integration.
United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the
Pacific
Provides full-text reports, studies, journals, and statistics on economic and social
development, with special emphasis given to population, women, the environment, natural resources,
commerce, industry, tourism, and infrastructure improvement.
United Nations Economic Commission for Europe
This is the UN's main source of studies and statistics on economic and social development in
Europe and the Former Soviet Republics.
United Nations Economic Commission for Latin
America and the Caribbean
ECLAC is the leading source of economic analysis for Latin America and the Caribbean. The
site includes many full-text studies.
United Nations Industrial Development Organization
This site, from the leading industrial development organization, is useful but not
outstanding. It contains online publications and UNIDO project descriptions.
World Bank
This is one of the most extensive sources of development-related statistics and full-text
studies on the Internet.
World Bank Institute
This site is most notable for its
Topics in Development, which lead
users to links organized by subject.
World Institute for Development Economics Research
Includes the World Income Inequality Database and hundreds of outstanding full-text
publications.
CHASS Data Centre
Includes databases from many IGOs and Canadian governmental sources. Focuses on
economic and financial data.
Country Information Sheets on Health,
Nutrition, Population, and Poverty
Provide statistics concerning intra-country differences between rich and poor as measured by
HNP service and use.
Exchange Rates for Selected
Currencies
Find today's exchange rates to the eighth decimal point.
OECD Statistics
Provides a broad array of social, economic, and environmental statistics. Some data is
limited to OECD member nations.
Penn World Tables: An Expanded
Set of International Comparisons
One of the richest sources of international statistics on the Internet, the Penn World Tables
cover 152 countries and 29 broad subject areas.
Poverty Monitoring Database
Includes income/consumption surveys, data from World Bank poverty assessments, and social
indicator tables.
Social Indicators
Includes data on population, youth and the elderly, housing, water supply and sanitation,
health, childbearing, education, literacy, income, and unemployment from the UN Statistics
Division.
Statistics and Quantitative Analysis
Unit, Inter-American Development Bank
Includes web-based databases and statistics for the Americas.
World Economic Outlook Database
Presents several types of GDP data and statistics on inflation.
World Income Inequality
Database
Collects and stores information on income inequality for developed, developing, and
transition countries.
Each of the following UN committees monitors compliance with one or two major human rights conventions. The documents of each committee are available on the Treaty Body Database.
The Commission on Human Rights and the Sub-commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights publish some of the most authoritative country reports found on the Internet. The documents of these two bodies--as well as human rights documents issued by the General Assembly, the ECOSOC, and the Security Council--are available on the Charter-based Bodies Database.
Related Bodies
International Helsinki Federation for Human Rights
The
Publications page includes excellent
full-text reports on human rights in member nations of the Organization for Security and
Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), including Europe, North America, and the Former Soviet Republics.
Revision of the World Population Estimates and
Projections
These estimates and projections provide the standard set of population figures that are used
throughout the United Nations system.
FAOSTAT
Search the POPULATION domain to find current data and projections.
Population Data
Sheet: Population and Development Indicators for Asia and the Pacific
Includes demographic and social indicators by region, sub-region, and country.
State of World Population Indicators
Find data for more than forty demographic and socioeconomic variables by region, subregion,
and country.
World Population Trends
Provides data on fertility, mortality, family planning, population policies, and world
population estimates and projections.
POPIN Electronic Library
Includes bibliographies and bibliographic databases, country and regional profiles,
statistical sources, directories, and other resources.
Reproductive Health
Indicators
This bibliographic and statistical database is an indispensable source of information on
abortion, sexually transmitted diseases, and related topics in Asia and the Pacific.
Annual Review of
Population Law
This database contains official government documents on population policies, reproductive
health, women's rights, and related topics from every nation.
Population and
Family Planning: Laws, Policies and Regulations
Covers China, Indonesia, the Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam.
World Abortion Policies
Consists of tables covering abortion laws, abortion rates, maternal mortality ratios,
fertility rates, and contraceptive data for all countries.
INCORE Guide to Internet Sources
on Mixed Marriages
Consists of links to news sources, scholarly articles, NGOs, and statistics.
Demographic, Population and Family Planning
World Wide Web Sites
Organized by region, this resource includes IGO regional and country offices, NGOs,
government agencies, and academic institutions.
Directory of
Current Population Research
This database indexes population projects in the countries of Asia and Pacific.
Directory of Population
Experts
Each of the thousands of records in this database lists the expert's areas of interest and
publications, as well as directory information. Covers Asia and the Pacific.
Directory of Population
Institutions
This searchable database provides access to institutes in Asia and the Pacific.
Worldwide Directory of Population
Institutions
Use this database to find records on population institutions arranged alphabetically, by
region, and by organization type.