Welcome!

We are in the Funk ACES Library!


About Us


Resources


Services


News


Related Libraries

Applied Health Sciences Library

Architecture and Art Library

Business and Economics Library

Education and Social Science Library

Funk ACES Library

Grainger Engineering Library & Information Center

Map & Geography Library

Natural History Survey Library

Hours

Aug. 25-28: 8:30am-midnight
Aug. 29: 8:30-10pm
Aug. 30: 10am-10pm
Aug 31: 10am-midnight
Sept 1: holiday
Beginning Sept 2
Mon-Th: 8:30am-3am
Friday: 8:30am-10pm
Saturday: 10am-10pm
Sunday: 10am-3am

Information about the Funk Aces Library and the departments it supports

Your Librarian

Melody M. Allison, Librarian, UIUC Funk ACES Library

1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL  61801
Circulation: 217-333-2416
Reference: 217-244-2249
Fax: 217-333-0558

Email Us


Visiting the Funk Library


Links to the Colleges and Departments the Funk ACES Library Serves


Public Safety


CPLA News rss

General Research Sources for City Planning and Landscape Architecture

The following is a selective guide to basic research resources available at UIUC, and especially in the Funk ACES Library. It is not meant to be comprehensive, but an overview of materials that may be useful in beginning research. Items which will be available only to UIUC community members, with a log in name and password, are noted as UIUC, all other universal resources are noted as WWW. Print resources, unless otherwise noted, are available in the Funk ACES Library with its location noted if relevant (e.g. CPLA Reference).

See also: Guide to Sources in City Planning and Guide to Sources in Landscape Architecture

Table of Contents


Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations

Acronym Finder WWW

Journal Abbreviation Sources WWW: JAS, or Journal Abbreviation Sources, is a registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations.

Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations WWW: A searchable, online resource published as an adjunct to content on Wiley InterScience.

Return to Table of Contents


Basic Guides to Research and Writing

Ground Rules for Good Research: A Ten Point Guide for Social Researchers Martyn Denscombe, Buckingham; Philadelphia: Open University Press, 2002.
300.72 D4331g Funk ACES Library

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers Theses and Dissertations Kate Turabian, Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996. Comprehensive guidance to writers of research papers. Conforms with the Chicago Manual of Style.
808.02 T84m1996 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Architecture & Art Library; Labor & Industrial Relations Reference; Main Library Reference; Modern Languages Library and Reference; Music & Performing Arts Library Reference; Natural History Library; Undergrad Library; 7th edition available at other libraries

Plain English WWW: From the U.S. Government an excellent web resource on writing clearly, concisely and effectively. Includes a library of examples and step by step assistance on writing documents.

Planning in Plain English: Writing Tips for Urban and Environmental Planners Natalie Macris, Chicago, Ill.: Planners Press: American Planning Association, 2000. Concise treatment on how to communicate planning ideas and concepts clearly and effectively, includes exercises and a bibliography and glossary of planning acronyms.
307.12 M247p CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)

Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative and Mixed Methods Approaches John W. Cresswell, Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2003. Guide to preparing plans and proposals for a scholarly journal article, dissertation or thesis. Especially valuable in its coverage of research methods and their use.
300.72 C865r CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library; Natural History Library; 3rd Edition at Eduacation Library

Writer’s Workshop at UIUC : Provides free writing assistance to all students, faculty and staff at the University and in all disciplines. Their webpage also has useful information and resources on writing research papers.

Return to Table of Contents


Style Guides

Writers Workshop: Writer Resources (APA) WWW: A guide to citing in APA style from the UIUC Center for Writing Studies.

The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003.
655.25 C43M2003 Can also be found in various libraries on campus.

Chicago/Turabian Documentation WWW: An online handbook from the University of Madison Wisconsin on citing in Chicago style.

Citation Styles online! WWW : A guide to citing various electronic materials in Chicago, APA, MLA, CBE and others.

Elements of Style William Strunk, Jr. WWW: Complete edition of the 1918 edition of this classic style manual online.
Print source of the Strunk and White edition is found in many libraries on campus and can be located by doing a title search in the library catalog.

Return to Table of Contents


Bibliographies

Bibliographies most often cover specialized areas

See also: City Planning Bibliographies : Landscape Architecture Bibliographies

Bibliography of the History of Art 1973-- : UIUC Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 4,800 periodicals.  Covers international periodicals from 1973 to present.

Return to Table of Contents


Biographical Sources

See also: City Planning Biographical Sources : Landscape Architecture Biographical Sources

American National Biography UIUC: Contains 17,435 biographical portraits of deceased Americans from the 1999 print edition, plus 500 new portraits added yearly and periodic updates of the biographies, bibliographies, and hyperlinks. Searchable by keyword, name, sphere of activity, birthplace, birth and death dates, and author/compiler. Contains 80,000 cross-referenced links, and selected links to other sites.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) UIUC: Covers individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world by indexing reference sources such as biographical dictionaries and who's who guides, subject encyclopedias, and volumes of literary criticism. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13.6 million. Updated biannually.

Union List of Artists Names WWW: Contains bibliographic information on artists and architects. Includes name variations.

Return to Table of Contents


Book reviews

See also: City Planning Book reviews : Landscape Architecture Book reviews

ACQ Web’s Directory of Book Reviews on the Web WWW: An excellent and comprehensive source for various book reviews in many different fields; both academic and general. Maintained by collection development librarians.

Book Review Index Online UIUC: Covers fiction and non-fiction and can be searched by keyword, title, author or journal, as well as by review characteristics.  Contains more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications.

Bowker's Books in Print UIUC: Electronic edition includes approximately 600,000 full-text book reviews as a complement to its 5.6 million title records. From a list of search results, items with reviews are marked with a star. To limit a search to books with reviews, select either "any source" or a specific journal from the "reviewed in" menu on the right hand side of the main search page. In order to access reviews, click on the "title reviews" tab at the top of the full record for a particular book.

Environmental Design Library Book Review Sources for Environmental Design WWW: From the University of California at Berkeley this has a list of sources that include book reviews on architecture, city planning and landscape architecture. This page is extremely valuable as it shows how to search for book reviews in each individual source. UIUC owns most of these sources however, they must be accessed through UIUC’s catalog by typing the name into the search box.

Return to Table of Contents


Dictionaries and Glossaries

See also: City Planning Dictionaries : Landscape Architecture Dictionaries

Art Lex WWW: An online dictionary of terms used in art and art history.

Credo Reference UIUC:  Full text entries from 428 reference books.  Once at the site, you can limit to just dictionaries or search all reference books.

Oxford Desk Dictionary of People and Places Frank R Abate, New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.
920.02 Ox25 Funk ACES Library Dictionaries

Dictionary of the Social Sciences Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002. Oriented to the educated lay person, covers many disciplines.
300.3 D56.1 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Education Reference

Oxford English Dictionary UIUC: An authoritative reference providing guidance on spelling, definitions, usage, and origins of words in the English language. It is unabridged and includes quotations showing words in context.

Return to Table of Contents


Directories

See also: City Planning Directories : Landscape Architecture Directories

National Faculty Directory Detroit, Gale Research Co. 2002. Has addresses and information on more than 740,000 faculty at universities in the United States and Canada.
Q923.7 N212002:1 Funk ACES Library Reference; Education Reference; Main Library Reference; Main Library Stacks; Math Library; Oak Street Facility; Veterinary Medicine Library

Return to Table of Contents


Encyclopedias

See also: City Planning Encyclopedias : Landscape Architecture Encyclopedias

The Columbia Gazetteer of the World UIUC: Saul B. Cohen ed., New York: Columbia University Press, c2001. An encyclopedia of geographical places and features.
1998 version: 910.3 C723 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library) and other locations; 2008 version: Malin Library Reference

Credo Reference UIUC:  Full text entries from 428 reference books.  Once at the site, you can limit to just encyclopedias or search all reference books.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online WWW: A search and directory site featuring Encyclopædia Britannica, the Web's best sites, news, magazines and more. 

Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art online) UIUC: Part of Oxford Art Online.  Search or browse entries on all aspects of the visual arts through history, including painting, architecture, sculpture, photography and other categories.  Contains 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images. Individual entries include links to museums, related websites and art online.

The Oxford Reference Online UIUC: Oxford Reference Online is the core collection which contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books.

Return to Table of Contents


Images, Maps and Digital Collections

See also: City Planning Images, Maps and Digital Collections : Landscape Architecture Images, Maps and Digital Collections

Art Museum Image Consortium (AMICO) UIUC: A huge database of digital art images from UIUC and UIC that can be downloaded for use in instruction or research.      (**AMICO was in operation from 1997 to 2005.  This database is currently available only for archival purposes.)

Digital Imaging and Media Technology Initiative WWW: From UIUC, a collection of online images in several different collections has many maps and images of Illinois.

EBSCO Host Image Collections UIUC: (via EBSCO Online; click General Full-Text Journals and Newspapers. Then select Academic Search Premier, then Image Collections in the top navigation bar) Organized under the categories Photos of People, Natural Science Photos, Photos of Places, Historical Photos, Maps, and Flags, this collection of large-format color images is searchable by keyword or by natural language.

Geography Network WWW: A global network of geographic information users and providers. Mostly free access to many types of geographic content including dynamic maps. The site includes population density maps and customizable maps from Census information, downloadable data, and more.

Library of Congress American Memory National Digital Library WWW: Holds more than 7 million items in more than 100 historical collections. Has a very good collection of maps.

National Atlas of the United States WWW: Includes many different kinds of maps including printable, multimedia and interactive.

Small Town America WWW: Stereoscopic Views from the Robert Dennis Collection By the New York Public Library this resource contains approximately 12,000 stereoscopic views from New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut from the 1850s to the 1910s. It includes images of buildings and street scenes, industry, transportation, natural disasters, local festivities, and costumes.

UIUC Digital Gateway to Cultural Heritage Materials WWW: An open archives initiative with Michigan that attempts to facilitate discovery and retrieval of certain classes of scholarly works. There are texts and graphics.

Return to Table of Contents


Indexes and Abstracts

See also: City Planning Indexes and Abstracts : Landscape Architecture Indexes and Abstracts

ABI/Inform UIUC: Indexes citations on business and management topics from over 1800 U.S. and international publications. Full text is available online for selected articles.

Academic Search Premier UIUC: Multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to over 3,900 periodical (1975-present), and citation / summary access to articles from nearly 4,500 periodicals (1984-present). It provides some full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.

Agricola UIUC: Contains bibliographic records of materials in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, and other types of materials. Covers 1970-present.

America: History and Life UIUC: A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries.

Art Index Retrospective UIUC: Provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Covers architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art; crafts; decorative arts; fashion; folk art and more.

ArticleFirst UIUC: Offers a general index of over 16,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Covers 1990-present, updated daily.

Associations Unlimited UIUC: Contains information for approximately 452,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations, associations and societies in all fields.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals UIUC: Indexes more than 2,800 periodicals in architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Covers 1741 to present.

CRL Foreign Doctoral Dissertation Database WWW: The Center for Research Libraries database for dissertations published outside of the United States and Canada. Provides instructions for interlibrary loan procedure. As UIUC is a member of the CRL, interlibrary loans for the UIUC community are provided free of charge. Materials are being added on a regular basis.

EBSCO UIUC: A collection of databases that offer general, business, newspaper and health-related information. Over 1,250 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, plus 960 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting. Selected full text articles available.

Engineering Village UIUC: Hosts several databases that offer a wide range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.

Left Index UIUC: Provides a guide to the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship. Topics covered include labor, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.  Coverage includes more than 247,500 citations from 1982 to present.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe UIUC: A comprehensive source for news, business, and legal information, with full text and abstracts. Includes foreign news sources, major U.S. newspapers, regional U.S. news services, radio and television transcripts, federal and state case law, medical, legislative and industry news, annual reports from Securities and Exchange Commission and many other sources. Newspapers are updated several times daily, and wire services hourly.

Ingenta UIUC: Searchable access to tables of contents of thousands of academic journals, many with full text articles available to UIUC users at no charge. Indexes journals in urban planning, environment and development and landscape studies.  Covers over 27,000 journals in all subject areas from 1988 to present.

JSTOR UIUC: Identifies older articles in many disciplines. Full text of over 100 journals in the areas of African American studies, anthropology, area studies, botany, general science, music, business, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics. Most include full texts of complete journals from their inception up to a "moving wall." The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR. The Library will, in many cases, have a separate subscription for the more recent issues.  

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) UIUC: Bibliographic index with both the PAIS Archive and PAIS International databases covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues.  The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.  The PAIS International database from CSA contains citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

Periodicals Contents Index UIUC: An electronic index to millions of articles published in thousands of scholarly and popular periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. PCI provides context for each entry by displaying it within the table of contents from the original source journal. The scope is worldwide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages. Indexes journals in city planning and urban studies as well as landscape architecture and the environment.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations UIUC: The most comprehensive source for North American dissertations.  Combines Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions and Dissertations & Theses: Full Text for a total of over 2.4 million entries, and more than 930,000 are available as full text.  Covers 1637 to present.

Sociological Abstracts Database UIUC: The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serial publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Contains records of articles from 1952-present.

Web of Knowledge UIUC: Indexes journals and provides complete bibliographic data, full length author abstracts, and cited references. Indexes currently available are: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). Can also be used to find reviews. 

Return to Table of Contents


Legal Resources

Find Law for Legal Professionals, Illinois WWW: An extensive list of annotated links to legislation in Illinois. Can go to Find Law's homepage to branch out nationally.

Government Documents Library at UIUC : The UIUC Government Documents Library is an official depository for United Nations, Canadian, United States and State of Illinois publications and information. An excellent guide to government and legal information as well as links to important websites and resources mostly free access, but a few for UIUC user’s only.

GPO Access WWW: From the Government Printing Office, information and databases on all three branches of the federal government can be freely accessed via this webpage.

Illinois Compiled Statutes WWW : Maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau lists statutes by category. This is not an official or authoritative source, but is a good place to get an overview of Illinois statutes.

Legal Information Institute WWW: From Cornell University a comprehensive site with links and information on Constitutions and codes, court opinions, laws by jurisdiction, directories and current awareness. Fully searchable.

Thomas WWW: From the Library of Congress this database is the most comprehensive congressional information site on the web. Current information on bills and resolutions in Congress as well as bill text, legislative status and abstracts are including. The Congressional Record is also included as are past years.

Return to Table of Contents


Other Library Catalogs and Resources

See also: City Planning Library Catalogs and Resources : Landscape Architecture Library Catalogs and Resources

I-Share : A resource sharing system of 76 libraries of which UIUC is one. If you can't find a book in the UIUC library this is the next place to look. Items may be requested online by those in the system.

UIUC Online Reference Collection UIUC:  Includes a collection of Almanacs

UIUC Online Research Resources : Resources can be accessed by title, by subject area covered or by type of resource i.e. newspapers, indexes, statistics etc.

University of Illinois Archives : Holds materials relevant to the history of UIUC.

WorldCat/OCLC UIUC: WorldCat is the combined union catalog of more than 71,000 OCLC member libraries worldwide, with over 179 million records representing materials in all formats. A good place to go if you can’t find a book in the I-Share system, gives location and bibliographic information for items.

Return to Table of Contents


Statistics

Census Bureau WWW: From the U.S. Government, this page offers statistics searchable by geographic area, by characteristics such as age, race and poverty or comparative tables.

County and City Data Book: Statistical Abstract Supplement WWW: 2007, 14th ed.  US Census Bureau.

The Demography Homepage WWW: Part of an initiative to identify, document, and provide simple access to demographic information concerning The United States of America. Offers data as well as access to national data resources.

Illinois Statistical Abstract: Illinois Report WWW: The 2009 Illinois Report is a comprehensive compilation of economic and demographic data relating to Illinois and to       political subdivisions within the state.

Statistical Abstract of the United States UIUC: Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census: [For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O.], 2002. Statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States with selected international data included.
317 Un3s recent years available at Funk ACES Library Reference Stats, Funk ACES LibraryCompact Stacks; and other locations

Statistical Resources on the Web WWW: This site, created and maintained by University of Michigan Documents Center, is organized by broad subject area, such      as Foreign or Statistics, in order to facilitate research.

Statistical Universe via Lexis Nexus UIUC: Provides comprehensive access to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.

STAT-USA Internet UIUC: Produced by STAT-USA, an agency within the Economics and Statistics Administration of the U.S. Department of Commerce, STAT-USA is an authoritative source for U.S. business, economic, and trade information. Must click on link at top of page to log-in.

World Development Indicators UIUC: Comprised of more than 550 indicators in 80 tables, organized in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and   Markets, and Global Links. The data go back to 1960, depending on the country. For more information, see the Commerce Library(UIUC).     

 

Return to Table of Contents


Thesauri / Search Terms

Knowing what search words to use can help you search more efficiently. A good thesaurus can help you find terms to both broaden and narrow your search.

Agrovoc WWW: A multilingual online thesaurus from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). Concentration is on subjects having to do with agriculture, food and land issues.

Alexandria Digital Library Feature Type Thesaurus WWW: Helpful in finding the terms used to categorize geographic places/features.

Collins dictionary & thesaurus desktop. Glasgow [Scotland] : HarperCollins, 2005.
423.12 C692 Funk ACES Library Dictionaries

EPA Terms of Environment WWW: Defines in non-technical terms commonly used environmental terms appearing in EPA publications. Also contains a list of commonly used acronyms and abbreviations.

Oxford American writer's thesaurus.  compiled by Christine A. Lindberg.  2nd ed.  New York : Oxford University Press, 2008.
423.12 Ox222008 Main Library Reference

Thesaurus.com WWW:

Return to Table of Contents