We are in the Funk ACES Library!
Applied Health Sciences Library
Business and Economics Library
Education and Social Science Library
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
Circulation: 217-333-2416
Reference: 217-244-2249
Fax: 217-333-0558
The following is a selective guide to basic research resources available at UIUC, and especially in Landscape Architecture available at the Funk ACES Library. It is not meant to be comprehensive, but an overview of materials that may be useful in beginning research. Items which will be available only to UIUC community members, with a log in name and password, are noted as UIUC, all other universal resources are noted as WWW. Print resources, unless otherwise noted, are available in the CPLA library with its location noted if relevant (e.g. Reference).
See also: Guide to General Research Sources and Guide to Sources in City Planning
The Art of Landscape Detail: Fundamentals, Practices, and Case Studies Niall G.
Kirkwood, New York: Wiley, 1999. Examines design processes, detail issues and includes in- depth
case studies and illustrations.
712
K636a 1999 Funk ACES Library
An Illustrated Guide to Landscape Design, Construction and Management Gregory M.
Pierceall, Danville, Ill.: Interstate Publishers, 1998.
Q712
P611i Funk ACES Library
Landscape Balance and Landscape Assessment Rudolf Kronert, Uta Steinhardt, Martin
Volk eds., Berlin : Springer, 2001. Recommendations for sustainable land use and management.
712
K924l Funk ACES Library; Maps & Geography Library
Landscape Designer and Estimators Guide National Landscape Association,
Washington, D.C.: The Association, 1996. This guide covers tools, time, labor, planting maintenance
and equipment.
712.028
N213L CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Landscape Estimating Methods Sylvia Hollman Fee, Kingston, MA: R.S. Means Co.,
1999. Includes up-to-date cost data and information budgeting for landscape maintenance as well as
information on preparing competitive landscape construction estimates.
Q338.43712
F32m1999 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Landscape Restoration Handbook Donald Harker et.al., Boca Raton: Lewis Publishers,
2nd edition, 1999. Handbook covers various aspects of principles and practices for natural
landscaping and ecological restoration.
574.50288
L239 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
The Road to Licensure and Beyond: including Understanding the L.A.R.E., 5th ed
Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards and the Landscape Architectural Registration
Boards Foundation; editor, Matthew R. Rankin. Fairfax, Va.: Landscape Architectural Registration
Boards Foundation, 2000.
F712.0711
R5312000 Funk ACES Library
Spon's Landscape Handbook Derek Lovejoy and Partners eds., London: Spon, 1997. A
comprehensive manual to landscape work and maintenance.
712.0942
Sp661997 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture Charles W. Harris, Nicholas T.
Dines eds., New York : McGraw-Hill, c1998. Important reference guide on design standards and
criteria including design and construction data.
Q
712.0218 T4821998 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library
CD Rom for 2002 edition:
712.0218
T482
Bibliography of the History of Art 1973--: UIUC Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
Bibliography on Landscape Water Issues (1996) WWW Very comprehensive.
Bibliography of landscape architecture, environmental design, and planning
Antoinette Paris Powell, Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1987.
Q.
016.71 P871B CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Main Library Stacks
Gardening WWW: From the Library of Congress a representative bibliographic sampling and description of literature and resources for gardening and design.
Landscape Architecture Sourcebook: A Guide to Resources on the History and Practice of
Landscape Architecture in the United States Diana Vogelsong, Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics,
1997. A collection of books, journal articles, CD-ROMs and other materials; not meant to be
comprehensive, but to describe materials that are relatively current and easy to obtain.
016.712
L239 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Making Educated Decisions: A Landscape Preservation Bibliography Charles A.
Birnbaum, FASLA, and Heather Barrett eds. Washington, DC: Dept. of the Interior, National Park
Service, Historic Landscape Initiative: For sale by the U.S. G.P.O., Supt. of Docs., 2000. Valuable
resource to anyone involved with preservation planning and stewardship of significant landscapes,
whether the product of landscape architects and designers, or indigenous cultural groups. 667
annotated citations from 48 American states and 27 countries.
DOC.
I29.82:L23/2000 Main Stacks Government Documents
Pioneers of American landscape design: an annotated bibliography Charles A.
Birnbaum and Lisa E. Crowder eds. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park
Service, Cultural Resources: Preservation Assistance Division, Historic Landscape Initiative, 2000.
712.092273
P659 Funk ACES Library; Architecture & Art Library Reference; Undergrad Library
Place and Space in Landscape and Gardens WWW: From the project Research on Place and Space an online bibliography on landscape and garden includes links to articles that can be found online or to the publisher.
See also: Research Resources : Biographical Sources
Dictionary of Today’s Landscape Designers Pierluigi Nicolin and Francesco
Repishti, Milan: Skira; London: Thames & Hudson, 2003. Profiles contemporary landscape
architects, architects, photographers, artists and engineers.
712.03
N545d CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Architecture & Art Library Reference
The Garden Book London: Phaidon, 2000. An illustrated survey of the world's most
influential garden makers, organized alphabetically.
Q712.6
G1673 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Oak Street Facility
The Garden Makers: The Great Tradition of Garden Design from 1600 to the Present
Day George Plumptre, Hugh Palmer (Photographer) New York: Random House, 1993. A collective
biography of seventy garden designers including illustrated examples of works from landscape and
garden design. The book covers 1600 to the present and focuses mostly on British and American
designers.
712.0942
P737g Funk ACES Library
Pioneers of American landscape design Charles A. Birnbaum, Robin Karson eds. New
York: McGraw-Hill, 2000. More than 160 biographical portraits of American landscape architects. No
index.
712.092273
P659 Funk ACES Library; Art & Architecture Library; Undergrad Library
See also: Research Resources : Book reviews
Environmental Design Library Book Review Sources for Environmental Design WWW: From the University of California at Berkeley this site has a list of sources that include book reviews on architecture, city planning and landscape architecture. This page is extremely valuable as it shows how to search for book reviews in each individual source. UIUC owns most of these sources however they must be accessed through UIUC's catalog by typing the name of the source into the search box.
Gardening Book Reviews WWW: From Amazon.com an alphabetized list of over 100 of the most popular Gardening books, it also offers reviews and recommendations of other related books and is updated.
The Complete Book of Garden Design, Construction and Planting David Stevens ed.,
et al. London: Cassell, 2002. With more than 220 diagrams and color photos, this book covers three
major areas: basic planning and style; "hard landscaping" (walls, fences, paving and similar
features); and flowers, shrubs, trees and other plants.
712.6
St471c Funk ACES Library
Designing Gardens Arabella Lennox-Boyd with Caroline Clifton-Mogg; photography by
Andrew Lawson. London: Frances Lincoln, 2001. This beautifully photographed book, offers guidance
on design principles in the garden.
712.6L548d
Funk ACES Library; Undergrad Library
Drawing Scenery: Landscapes, Seascapes and Buildings Giovanni Civardi Tunbridge
Wells: Search, 2002. A basic guide to drawing scenery.
Q743.836
C499d Funk ACES Library
Landscape Perspective Drawing Nicholas T. Dines. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1990.
712.3
D612l Funk ACES Library
Landscape Sketching Arthur Black, New York : McGraw-Hill, 1950. An excellent step
by step guide to sketching landscapes it includes many clear examples.
741
B56L Funk ACES Library; Main Library Stacks
The Oxford Companion to Gardens Patrick Goode Ed. Et al. Oxford: Oxford University
Press, 2001. An encyclopedia of the art of garden design; fully illustrated includes biographies
and the history of gardens.
712.09
Ox2 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Small Period Gardens: a practical guide to design and planting Roy Strong;
historical plant lists compiled by Tony Lord Rizzoli, New York: Rizzoli, 1992. A guide to small
period gardens, especially of the eighteenth nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries; with
photographs and plans of twenty gardens in different historical styles and selected lists of plants
typical of the period and yet still available today.
712.6
ST89S Funk ACES Library; Undergrad Library
See also : Research Resources : Dictionaries and Glossaries
CRC World Dictionary of Plant Names Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2000. 4 volumes.
Includes common names, scientific names, eponyms, synonyms and etymology.
Q
580.14 Q29c Funk ACES Library, Funk ACES Library Dictionaries; Biology Library Reference;
Natural History Library Reference
A Dictionary of Landscape: A Dictionary of Terms Used in the Description of the World's
Land Surface George A. Goulty, Aldershot, Hampshire, England: Avebury Technical;
Brookfield, Vt., USA: Gower, 1991.
712.03
G236d CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library
Dictionary of Landscape Architecture Baker H. Morrow, Albuquerque: University of
New Mexico Press, 1987. Has important terms in Landscape Architecture, includes photos and
drawings.
712.03
M834d CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library
Pictorial Library of Landscape Plants Kalamazoo, Mich.: Merchants Pub. Co., 1988-
2 volumes fully illustrated.
Q
635.9 H369p CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
See also: Research Resources : Directories
Directory of International Periodicals and Newsletters on the Built Environment
Frances C. Gretes, New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1986. Useful for locating international serial
publications in areas including historic preservation, architecture, building and construction and
landscape architecture.
016.72
G868d CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Architecture & Art Reference (2nd
edition available at Architecture & Art Reference)
International Directory of Design
WWW: San Francisco, CA: Penrose Press, 1993-
745.407
In85:2c2 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
North American Horticulture: A Reference Guide Thomas M. Barrett, ed., New York:
Macmillan, 1991. A comprehensive directory on plant and garden organizations, libraries, museums,
governmental programs, education and periodicals, as well as test and demonstration gardens.
Q635.02573 N811 1992 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Ulrich International Periodicals Directory
UIUC: New Providence, NJ: R.R. Bowker, 2000. Identifies scholarly and popular
journals, magazines, and other serial publications from around the world.
A.050P418
Funk ACES Library Reference (edition 35, 1997) and other locations
See also: Research Resources : Encyclopedias
The American Horticulture Society Encyclopedia of Garden Plants Christopher
Brickell ; horticultural consultant, John Elsley, New York : Macmillan, 1997. Illustrated, with
photos and text.
Q635.903
Am35 Funk ACES Library Encyclopedias; Undergrad Library Reference
(rev.
US ed.)
Cassel's Encyclopedia of Gardening: The Definitive Single Volume Guide to Garden Plants and
Gardening Techniques Anita Pereire, London: Seven Dials, 2000.
Q635.03
P414c2000 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Color Encyclopedia of Garden Plants and Habitats Fritz Kohlein, Portland, Or.:
Timber Press, 1994. Each of the 1,100 plants described is keyed to the appropriate habitats and
illustrated in color. The plants are listed in alphabetical order by botanical name.
635.903
K824n:E CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Encyclopedia of Gardens: History and Design Candice A. Shoemaker ed., Chicago:
Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001. A 3 volume encyclopedia that covers individuals of importance in garden
history and design, places and topical information.
Q635.03
En192 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Undergrad Library Reference
Flora: A Gardener's Encyclopedia Portland, Or.: Timber Press, 2003. Two volume
illustrated encyclopedia of plants including CD Rom, it covers all the plant groups and includes
information on climate zones.
Q635.903
F661 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Biology Library, Biology Library Reference
The New Royal Horticultural Society Dictionary of Gardening editor in chief,
Anthony Huxley et al., London: Macmillan; New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 1999. c1992. 4 vols.
Although it is called a dictionary its scope is encyclopedic. It is an exhaustive reference source
that includes biographies as well as details on topics like plant nutrition and gardening within
specific countries.
Q
635.03 D561 Funk ACES Library Dictionaries
The Ward Lock Encyclopedia of Practical Gardening Anita Pereire, London: Ward
Lock, 1995. Includes more than 4,000 flowers, trees, and shrubs. Each entry offers a description of
the main species and recommended varieties, their scientific names, and advice on cultivation,
care, propagation, and garden uses. Many color photos.
Q635.03
P4141e:E CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
American gardens in the eighteenth century: "for use or for delight" Ann Leighton,
Amherst : University of Massachusetts Press, 1986, c1976. A historic treatment of 18th century
American gardens design and use.
712.60973
L533A1986 Funk ACES Library; Undergrad Library
American gardens of the nineteenth century: "for comfort and affluence" Ann
Leighton, Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 1987. Includes bibliography.
635.0973
L533A Funk ACES Library; Main Library Stacks; Undergrad Library
A Brief History of Gardening Neil Fairbairn, Emmaus, PA : Rodale, 2001. Covers
thousands of years and all continents in essay format. It has many illustrations and there is a
time line included with each chapter.
635.09
F15b Funk ACES Library Reference
City Planning and Landscape Architecture at the University of Illinois, an Historical
Record, 1868-1954 Karl Baptiste Lohmann, Urbana: Dept. of City Planning and Landscape
Architecture, College of Fine and Applied Arts, 1954.
C.IZL4EL
Funk ACES Library Closed Stacks; Main Library Stacks
Design History: An Anthology Dennis P. Doordan ed. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press,
1995. An anthology collecting 18 essays from Design Issues volumes 3-10. Essays are grouped in
three broad categories: Graphic Design, Design in the American Corporate Milieu, and Design in the
Context of National Experiences. Especially valuable for its treatment of historical areas not well
represented for example the history of women in design, and the history of modern design in China.
745.44
D461 Art & Architecture Library; Main Library Stacks
Design on the Land: The Development of Landscape Architecture Norman T. Newton,
Cambridge, Mass., Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1971. Classic text on the history of
landscape architecture. It covers from ancient times to the 20th century.
712.09
N48d Funk ACES Library; Oak Street Facility
Early American Gardens: "For Meate or Medicine" Ann Leighton, Amherst: University
of Massachusetts Press, 1986, c1970. A history of 17th century American gardens, the author has
written two more texts on garden history in the 18th and 19th century, cited above. Includes
bibliography.
712.60974
L533E1986 Funk ACES Library
European Gardens: an historical atlas Virgilio Vercelloni, N.Y.: Rizzoli, 1990.
Q
712.094 V582a:E Funk ACES Library
Garden history: issues, approaches, methods John Dixon Hunt ed., Washington, D.C.:
Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection, 1992. Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and
Collection: A collection of papers from the Dumbarton Oaks Colloquium on the History of Landscape
Architecture XIII
Q712.09
D893 Funk ACES Library
A Glossary of Garden History Michael Symes, Princes Risborough : Shire, 1993. This
glossary explains the major terms likely to be found when reading garden history or visiting
historic gardens.
712.6094
Sy63g Funk ACES Library
The History of Garden Design: The Western Tradition from the Renaissance to the Present
Day Monique Mosser, Georges Teyssot eds. London; New York: Thames & Hudson, 2000. MIT
Press. 70 essays chronologically ordered this text offers a historical perspective on gardens as a
reflection of society. It contains many archival drawings and examples of gardens and their design
including short bibliographies after each essay.
712.094
H629 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Icons of Garden Design Caroline Holmes (Introduction), Munich; New York: Prestel,
2001. Traces the development of garden design worldwide from medieval gardens to contemporary
gardens covering 80 iconic gardens and their designers.
Q712.6
Ic7 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Architecture & Art Library
Landscape Design: A Cultural and Architectural History Elizabeth Barlow Rogers,
Harry N Abrams, New York: Harry N. Abrams, 2001. An encyclopedic account of man-made landscapes
around the world. Illustrated with drawings and full color photographs.
Q712.09
R631l CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library; Architecture & Art Library;
Undergrad Library
Landscapes in History: Design and Planning in the Eastern and Western Traditions
Philip Pregill, Nancy Volkman, New York: John Wiley, 1999. Traces the development of landscape
architecture and environmental design from prehistory to modern times-in Europe, the Middle East,
Asia, and North America. Includes bibliographies.
Q304.23
P913h CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library
The NEW Reading the Landscape: Fieldwork in Landscape History Richard Muir,
Exeter: University of Exeter Press, 2000. Concentrates on the English countryside, but is valuable
for its examination of how features of the cultural landscape are the "physical manifestation of
human ideas, perceptions and decisions." Contains tables explaining key landscape features and how
to recognize them in the field.
914.2
M8963s 2000 Funk ACES Library
100 Years of Landscape Architecture: Some patterns of a century Melanie Simo,
Washington, DC: ASLA Press, 1999.
Q712.0973
Si51o CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Rooted in History: Studies in Garden Conservation Mike Calnan, Katie Fretwell
eds., London: National Trust, 2001. Gives a look at the management issues surrounding the National
Trust gardens. It addresses garden conservation, restoration, growth and development and includes
many case studies and photographs.
712.60942
R679 Funk ACES Library
Cultural Landscape Currents WWW: A project of the Historic Landscape Initiative by the National Park Service this online journal profiles a variety of cultural landscape types.
Garden History Links WWW: A very large list of links to sites on garden and landscape history. It has especially good coverage and organization of international sites.
The Garden History Society WWW: Based in the United Kingdom, but has an international scope contains bibliographies, book reviews and a register of research in garden history.
History & Culture WWW: From the National Park Service Cultural Resources. A wealth of information on history, cultural landscapes, special exhibits, databases for historical research and more.
Museum of Garden History WWW: Webpage of the first museum dedicated to garden history. Located in London, England the page has information on the museum's collection and information on garden history.
See also: Research Resources : Images, Maps and Digital Collections
American Landscape and Architectural Design 1850-1920 WWW: From the Library of Congress and Harvard University these images represent an historical view of American buildings and landscapes built during 1850-1920 including specific buildings, parks, estates and gardens.
Architecture Visual Resources Library WWW: From the University of California at Berkeley, this database of visual images can be searched by period or topic, building or object name and personal or group name. Many items are historical plans and drawings that have been scanned as well as images of buildings, gardens and natural landscapes.
Internet Directory for Botany, Images WWW: A gallery of links to images of plants from around the world.
Landscape Architecture Image Resource WWW: From the University of Maryland a database of landscape images that can be searched by era, geographic region, project criteria and more.
See also: Research Resources : Indexes and Abstracts
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) UIUC: An international index to design and craft journals. It currently contains nearly 120,000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals published between 1973-present (most articles date from 1987), and data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making the largest database of its kind in the world. Between 10,000-15,000 references are added annually.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index UIUC: Identifies articles about horticulture, gardening and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. Designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history. Over 430 core titles are indexed and abstracted, the majority of which are published in English. The index includes periodicals of the major learned societies in horticulture, botany, ecology, entomology, and plant pathology, and of many plant societies and trade associations. Publications of commercial horticulture, landscaping, and retailing are represented.
Forest Service Database WWW: Maintained by the US Forest Service this open access database is an index to publications on parks, park services and land use issues and includes maps as well as text based resources.
The Gardener's Index of Plants and Flowers John Brookes, Kenneth A. Beckett, and
Thomas Everett, New York: Macmillan, 1987.
635.9
B79g CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Index of Garden Plants Mark Griffiths, Portland, Oregon: Timber Press, 1994. From
the New Royal Horticulture Society Dictionary it lists botanical names, synonyms and popular names
for 60,000 plants in cultivation. Contains brief descriptions as well as the etymology of names.
635.03
D561INDEX Funk ACES Library Reference; Biology Library Reference
Landscape Architecture Magazine Index 1996-- WWW: Online index to all articles published in LAM.
Landscape Architecture Theses at UIUC WWW: A chronological list of Masters' theses, 1927-present, completed by individual students in the Department of Landscape Architecture at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Most call numbers are given, but some may need to be searched by author or title from the online catalog.
Periodicals Archive Online UIUC: An electronic index to millions of articles published in thousands of scholarly and popular periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. It provides context for each entry by displaying it within the table of contents from the original source journal. The scope is worldwide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages. It indexes journals in landscape architecture and the environment.
Water Resources Abstracts UIUC: Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Covers 1967-present.
Web of Science UIUC: Indexes journals and provides complete bibliographic data, full length author abstracts, and cited references. Indexes currently available are: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). Can also be used to find reviews.
ArchNet WWW: An online community for architects, planners, urban designers, interior designers, landscape architects, and scholars, with a special focus on the Islamic world. Includes a digital library with access to important journal articles, information on careers and course syllabi.
National Wetlands Inventory WWW: From the US Fish and Wildlife Service includes many online maps of wetlands, information on wetland plants and statistics.
Sustainable Urban Landscape Information Series WWW: From the University of Minnesota this site provides sustainable landscape information to the public and to the horticulture/landscape industry.
WWW Virtual Library-Botany WWW:
WWW Virtual Library-Gardening Links WWW:
American Society for Landscape Architecture: Joblink WWW:
Design Career Services WWW: From Iowa State University a searchable guide to jobs and internships has many listings and detailed descriptions below list of postings. Choose Community and Regional Planning from the first drop down box.
Guide to International Opportunities in Landscape Architecture Education and Internships WWW: Annaliese Bischoff (ed.), 2004. Online guide to educational programs and internships.
Opportunities in landscape architecture, botanical gardens, and arboreta Blythe
Camenson, Lincolnwood, Ill.: VGM Career Horizons, 1999. Especially helpful for finding internships
and practicum opportunities.
712.02373
C144 Funk ACES Library
Occupational Outlook in Landscape Architecture WWW: From the Department of Labor
The following is a selective list of specific journals that can be accessed online. Some are not widely indexed.
For a complete list of our journal holdings go to:
Landscape Architecture Magazine WWW: The Magazine of the American Society of Landscape Architects
Landscape and Urban Planning
UIUC: A journal concerned with conceptual, scientific, and design approaches to land
use. By emphasizing ecological understanding and a multi-disciplinary approach to analysis and
planning and design, it attempts to draw attention to the interrelated nature of problems posed by
nature and human use of land.
Landscape Research UIUC: Deals with recent research in landscape from all disciplines.
Landscape Journal
UIUC: Contains information concerning academic research, scholarly investigation
& technical information of interest to practitioners, academicians & students of landscape
architecture.
No full text available up to one year, publisher embargo.
Landscape Online WWW: (Includes Landscape Architect and Specifier News and Landscape Contractor News)
Topos (European Landscape Magazine) WWW:
Archives of American Gardens WWW: From the Smithsonian Institution this catalog can be searched by keyword, creator or subject. Also includes several other historic archives. Click on Archival, Manuscript and Photographic Collections to access catalog.
Dumbarton Oaks Research Library WWW: Important collection of literature in Landscape Studies as well as their own publications.
Environmental Design Library at University of California, Berkeley WWW: Has over a dozen guides to all aspects of city and regional planning, many items are specific to UC users, but it is an excellent and comprehensive resource and most of the items are available at UIUC.
American Community Gardening Association WWW :
American Society of Landscape Architects WWW: Membership information, jobs, hot list of accredited academic programs, bookstore catalog, news and events.
Association of Professional Landscape Designers WWW :
Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA) WWW: An organization composed of virtually all programs of landscape architecture in the United States and Canada. Has archives of most recent newsletters and information on membership and their educator conference.
Council of Landscape Architectural Council Boards WWW: CLARB establishes and promotes the adoption of uniform standards for licensure of landscape architects. Their webpage has information on standards, education and licensing.
The Cultural Landscapes Foundation WWW: Non-profit that works to restore and maintain cultural landscapes as well as educate the public.
European Foundation of Landscape Architecture (EFLA) WWW:
National Wetlands Inventory WWW: From the US Fish and Wildlife Service includes many online maps of wetlands, information on wetland plants and statistics.
Urban Parks Online WWW: placemaking for parks, plazas and civic squares: Non-profit that offers publications, workshops and databases on recommended reading, speakers, community networks and more.
The Complete Plant Selection Guide for Landscape Design Mark C. Stocklein, West
Lafayette, Ind.: Purdue University Press, 2001. Contains lists of plants for varied requirements,
including levels of sun, soil moisture and pH, and zone hardiness. Plants possessing some two dozen
qualities are listed, ranging from attractive bark to tolerance of various environmental stressors.
Q715
St65c CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Hardy Herbaceous Perennials 2 vols. Leo Jelitto and Wilhelm Schacht, Portland,
Or.: Timber Press, 1990. An alphabetical description by genus and species of plants considered
hardy in temperate climates. Illustrated.
Q635.93203
J392f CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library Dictionaries
Manual of Woody Landscape Plants: their identification, ornamental characteristics,
culture, propagation and use. Michael A. Dirr, Champaign, Ill.: Stipes Pub., 1998.
Q
582.15 D63m 1998 Funk ACES Library; Natural History Reference
Native Trees Shrubs and Vines for Urban and Rural America Gary L. Hightshoe, New
York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1987. A basic planting design reference. The characteristics, cultural
requirements, and most suitable environmental settings are identified for each plant.
Q715.0973
H538n CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library
North American Landscape Trees Arthur Lee Jacobson, Berkeley, Calif.: Ten Speed
Press, 1996. Illustrated book containing listings of 5,000 kinds of trees (including 950 species).
635.977
J157n CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Pictorial Library of Landscape Plants M. Jane Coleman Helmer, Kalamazoo, Mich.:
Merchants Pub. Co., 1988-.2 volumes fully illustrated.
Q
635.9 H369p CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Plant Dictionary, Photos of Ornamental Plants and Pests WWW: PLANTfacts: Horticulture & Crop Science in Virtual Perspective form the Ohio State University. This online database can be searched with a plants common name, its scientific name or by different characteristics (i.e. bulbs, grasses, perennials, annuals etc.).
Fact sheet Database WWW: PLANTfacts: Horticulture & Crop Science in Virtual Perspective form the Ohio State University. Offers guides for answering plant-related questions from 46 different universities and government institutions across the United States and Canada as well as information on research and teaching. Searchable by keyword and region.
Plants National Database WWW: From the USDA, provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.
UI Plants Database WWW: A database on woody landscape plant identification, culture and usage for the Midwest, including native and introduced species and their major varieties and cultivars. You can select plants by their Scientific Name, or you can search for Common Name or specific features using the Advanced Search function.