1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
The following is a selective guide to basic research resources available at UIUC, and especially in City Planning & Landscape Architecture Reference Collection at the Funk ACES Library. It is not meant to be comprehensive, but an overview of materials that may be useful in beginning research. Areas covered include city and urban planning, design, land use, housing and transportation . Items which will be available only to UIUC community members, with a log in name and password, are noted as UIUC, all other universal resources are noted as WWW. Print resources, unless otherwise noted, are available in the Funk ACES library with its location noted if relevant (e.g. CPLA Reference).
Doing Urban Research Gregory D. Andranovich, Gerry Riposa Newbury Park, Calif.:
Sage Publications, 1993.
307.76072 An22d CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library) and Funk ACES Library
How to Write Reports and Proposals Diane Lutovich and Janis Fisher Chan. San
Anselmo, CA: Advanced Communication Designs, 1998.
651.75L977h CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library) and Funk ACES Library
The Practice of State and Regional Planning Frank S. So, Irving Hand, Bruce D.
McDowell eds., Washington, D.C.: International City Management Association; Chicago, Ill.: American
Planning Association, 1986. Series of essays on important issues in regional planning.
361.6 P881 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
The Practice of Local Government Planning 3rd edition. Charles J. Hoch, Linda C.
Dalton, Frank S. So eds., Washington, DC: Published in cooperation with the American Planning
Association for the ICMA University by the International City/County Management Association, 2000.
A series of essays on important issues in planning at the local level including housing,
transportation, development and design.
352.960973 P8812000 Funk ACES Library
Time Saver Standards for Housing and Residential Development Joseph Dechiara, New
York: McGraw-Hill, 1995. Important reference guide on design standards and criteria Illustrated
with drawings and plans.
Q 711.58 T482 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Architecture & Art Library Closed Stacks
Time Saver Standards for Site Planning Joseph De Chiara, Lee E. Koppelman, New
York: McGraw-Hill, 1984.
Q.720 D356T CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Main Library Stacks; Oak Street Facility
Time Saver Standards for Urban Design Donald Watson et al., New York: McGraw-Hill,
2003. Reference guide on design standards and criteria in Urban Design. Scope is international and
topics include preservation, renewal, patterns of settlement and sustainability. Illustrated with
drawings and plans.
Q307.12T482 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Table of contents online
Classic Readings in Urban Planning 2nd edition. Jay M. Stein, editor, Chicago, IL:
American Planning Association, 2004.
Great anthology of 33 selections by the top thinkers in the field.
307.12160973 C569 2004 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Contemporary Urban Planning 7th edition. John M. Levy, Upper Saddle River, N.J.:
Prentice Hall, c2006. A broad overview, especially for beginners, of public planning especially at
the sub-state level, it covers ideological political and economic perspectives.
307.120973 L579c2006 Funk ACES Library
Handbook of Urban Studies Ronan Paddison, London; Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage,
2001. An up-to-date account of the urban condition, relevant to a wide readership from academics to
researchers and policy-makers. A theoretical, practical and empirical overview of Urban Studies
written by leaders in the field.
307.76 H191 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library
Modern Classics in Regional Science Series Cheltenham, UK; Brookfield, Vt.; Edward
Elgar, 1996. 8 volumes. Brings together papers from the last 40 years which can be considered
classics. Attempts to create a consolidated access point to important literature in the field of
regional science. Includes volumes; 1.
Theory I & II, 2.
and Land Use, 3.
Urban Economics, 4.
Dynamics I & II, 5.
Housing and Labour Markets, 6.
Policy and Regional Integration.
307.12 M72 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Urban Regeneration: A Handbook Hugh Sykes, Peter Roberts eds., London; Thousand
Oaks, Calif.: SAGE, 2000. A comprehensive and integrated primer on regeneration.
307.3416 Ur11 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library
American cities: a bibliography Nicholas O. Kura and Tatiana Shohov, Huntington,
N.Y.: Nova Science Publishers, 2001.
016.30776 K965a Funk ACES Library
Cities and Towns in American History: A Bibliography of Doctoral Dissertations
Arthur P. Young, New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. Divided by States and Territories and Subject
016.30776 Y84c CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
CPL Bibliographies (
Council of Planning Librarians) A Series of bibliographies published by the
Council of Planning Librarians. The topics of these publications relate to urban and regional
016.7114 C73C Funk ACES Library Compact Stacks (#4-80, 99-310, 313-314, 316-327, 1058-1069), CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library) (#311-312, 315, 328); Main Library Stacks (#81-93, 95, 97-98); Undergrad Library (#96); Oak Street Facility (# 86-88, 94)
The Essential Planning Library WWW: An annotated bibliography from the APA site of the essential reference sources in the field for libraries and consultants.
Healthy cities: an annotated bibliography Namir Khan, Willem H. Vanderburg; with
the collaboration of Lynn Macfie [et al.]. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001.
016.30776 K527h Funk ACES Library; Main Library Stacks
History of urban planning in the United States: an annotated bibliography. Martin
Gellen, Chicago, Ill.: CPL Bibliographies, 107, March 1983.
016.7114 C73C Funk ACES Library Compact Stacks; Main Library Stacks
Information Sources in Urban and Regional Planning: A Directory and Guide to Reference
Sources Edward E. Duensing, New Brunswick, N.J.: Center for Urban Policy Research, 1994.
Annotated bibliographies on general resources, including dictionaries and glossaries, indexes,
abstracts and organizations, in urban and regional planning.
016.30712 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
University of Nottingham Online Planning Resources Bibliographies WWW: A very comprehensive bibliography that is updated frequently. Focused on the United Kingdom, but covers publications and issues worldwide.
Urban Planning, 1794-1918: An International Anthology of Articles, Conference Papers, and Reports WWW: Can be searched by keyword or browsed by author, date or subject.
Urban Transportation WWW: From the Library of Congress a bibliographic finding aid including reference to both basic and specialized texts.
See also: Reference Resources : Biographical Sources
The American planner: biographies and recollections Donald A. Krueckeberg ed., New
Brunswick, N.J.: Center for Urban Policy Research, 1994. Biographies of important city and regional
planners from 1890-1980.
307.120922 AM351994 Funk ACES Library
Dictionary of Today’s Landscape Designers Pierluigi Nicolin and Francesco
Repishti, Milan: Skira; London: Thames & Hudson, 2003. Profiles contemporary landscape
architects, architects, photographers, artists and engineers, concentrates mainly on urban design
712.03 N545d CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Architecture & Art Library Reference
See also: Reference Resources : Book Reviews
Environmental Design Library Book Review Sources for Environmental Design WWW: From the University of California at Berkeley this site has a list of sources that include book reviews on architecture, city planning and landscape architecture. This page is extremely valuable as it shows how to search for book reviews in each individual source. UIUC owns most of these sources however they must be accessed through UIUC’s catalog by typing the name of the source into the search box.
Resource for Urban Design Information Book Reviews WWW: This larger pay to use site, has free access to frequently updated book reviews in the Urban Design field.
Affordable Housing Design Advisor WWW: Developed by the US Department of Housing and Urban Development in cooperation with many professional organizations this page offers tools, checklists and guidelines for housing design and planning.
People Places: Design Guidelines for Urban Open Spaces 2nd edition. Clare
Cooper Marcus and Carolyn Francis eds., New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1998.
711.4 P391998 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library
Site Planning and Design Handbook Thomas H. Russ; illustrations by Stephen M.
Russ, New York: McGraw-Hill, 2002. Covers issues of importance in planning and design for landscape
architects, civil engineers, architects and planners including construction details and graphics
720.28 R91s CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Architecture & Art Library Closed Stacks; Main Library Stacks
The Urban Design Handbook: Techniques and Working Methods Ray Gindroz et al. New
York: Norton, 2003. A manual for urban designers this book covers design processes from basic
principles to developed designs. Illustrated.
711.4 Ur12 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library
Urban Design: Method and Techniques 2nd edition, Cliff Moughtin, Oxford England;
Boston: Architectural Press, 2003.
711.4 Ur112003 Funk ACES Library
Urban Planning and Design Criteria 3rd edition. Joseph DeChiara, Lee Koppelman,
New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1982.
Q.711 D35P1982 Funk ACES Library Reserve, Funk ACES Library
See also: Reference Resources : Dictionaries and Glossaries
Dictionary: Landscape and Urban Planning: Multilingual Dictionary on Environmental
Planning, Design & Conservation Klaus-Jurgen Evert , Berlin: New York: Springer, 2001.
In English, German, French, Spanish.
333.731503 L591 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Main Library Stacks
Glossary of Population and Housing Gordon Logie, New York: Elsevier 1978. In
English, French, Italian, Dutch, German and Swedish.
312.03 L82g CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
The Latest Illustrated Book of Development Definitions New expanded edition.
Harvey S. Moskowitz and Carl G. Lindbloom, New Brunswick, N.J.: Center for Urban Policy Research,
2004. Includes figures, tables and drawings.
307.12160973 M853n2004 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Planning Acronyms and Abbreviations WWW Explanations from the American Planning Association.
Transportation Dictionary Lester A. Probst and Katherine DeGross.
Gaithersburg, Md.: Data Tactics, 1979.
380.503 P945t CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
See also: Reference Resources : Directories
The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning provides links to accredited planning schools, non-accredited ACSP member schools, Canadian planning schools and programs, and planning schools and programs by U.S. state.
Directory of Information Resources in Housing and Urban Development 3rd edition.
Rockville, Md.: HUD USER, 1993.
025.063635 D6281993 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Directory of International Periodicals and Newsletters on the Built Environment
Frances C. Gretes, New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1986. Useful for locating international serial
publications in areas including historic preservation, architecture, building and construction and
016.72 G868d CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Architecture & Art Library Reference (2nd edition available at Architecture & Art Library Reference)
International Directory of Design
WWW: This resource is currently only being produced as a website. There is a
City Planning and
Landscape Design resources.
San Francisco, CA: Penrose Press, 1993-
745.407 In85:2c2 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Planetizen 2007 Guide to Graduate Urban Planning Programs in the United States and
Canada. Los Angeles, CA: Urban Insight, 2007. This is a directory of 94 graduate programs,
with Top 25 listings (UIUC is #10 overall, best in the Midwest).
307.1216097 P693 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
See also: Reference Resources : Encyclopedias
Cities of the United States: a compilation of current information on economic, cultural,
geographic, and social conditions 3rd edition. Linda Schmittroth, Mary Kay Rosteck, eds.
Detroit; London: Gale Research, 1998. Includes a cumulative index in each volume.
Q.307.760973 C49831998 Oak Street (2nd edition available at Reference Room in the Main Library)
Encyclopedia of Chicago
James R. Grossman, Ann Durkin Keating, Janice L. Reiff eds. Chicago: Univ. of Chicago
Pr., 2004. Developed by the Newberry Library with the cooperation of the Chicago Historical
Society, some 633 experts from across the U.S. wrote the more than 1,400 entries. The encyclopedia
is enhanced with numerous photos, engravings, and maps.
Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation Arthur E. Dell Orto, Robert P.
Marinelli eds. New York: Macmillan Library Reference USA, 1995. Helpful for complying with the
American Disabilities Act in Planning. Contains articles, each with a bibliography, along with a
list of resources for further information.
Q362.403 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Applied Health Sciences Library Reference; Undergrad Library Reference
Encyclopedia of Housing Willem Van Vliet editor, Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage
Publications, 1998. Multi-disciplinary with entries from researchers and analysts of housing issues
including history, research and analytical perspectives.
Q363.503 En19 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Main Library Reference; Main Library Stacks
Encyclopedia of Rural America The Land and People 2nd edition. Gary A. Goreham
ed., Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2008. 2 vols. A comprehensive reference with essays on a wide
variety of topics. Includes bibliography and citations.
Q.973.091734 EN192008 Funk ACES Library
Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs Neil Larry Shumsky ed.,
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1998. 2 vols. Broad coverage of the role of cities and suburbs in
American history and culture.
307.76097303 En19 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Main Library Reference
Encyclopedia of World Cities Immanuel Ness, Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 1999. 2
vols. Scope is international.
Q307.7603 N373e CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Main Library Reference
World Encyclopedia of Cities: North America George Thomas Kurian. Santa
Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1994- 2 vols. Has 8- to 15-page descriptions of 136 cities from all
states, the District of Columbia, and eight Canadian provinces.
Q307.7603 K965w CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Undergrad Library Reference
The Birth of City Planning in the United States 1840-1917
UIUC: Jon A. Peterson, Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2003.
307.760973 P442b Funk ACES Library
The Cambridge Urban History of Britain Peter Clark ed., Cambridge; New York:
Cambridge University Press, 2000- 3 vols. Covers 600-1950.
307.760941 C144 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library
City Planning and Landscape Architecture at the University of Illinois, an Historical
Record, 1868-1954 Karl Baptiste Lohmann, Urbana: Dept. of City Planning and Landscape
Architecture, College of Fine and Applied Arts, 1954.
C.IZL4EL Funk ACES Library Closed Stacks; Main Library Stacks
The City Shaped: Urban Patterns and Meanings through History Spiro Kostof, London:
Thames and Hudson, c1991.
Q.711.409 K848c1999 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library), Funk ACES Library
The City Assembled: The Elements of Urban Form through History Spiro Kostof,
London: Thames and Hudson, 1992. A companion to The City Shaped this book examines the specific
anatomy of cities (i.e. sidewalks, squares and waterfronts) and the role of these discrete parts in
711.4 K848c Funk ACES Library
Four Thousand Years of Urban Growth An Historical Census Tertius Chandler,
Lewiston: E. Mellen Press, 1987. Covers the populations of cities and their suburbs from 2250 B.C.
to 1975, three sections cover: (1) continental tables and maps, (2) data sheets for ancient cities,
and (3) tables and maps of the world's largest cities.
307.14 C36lf CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
Historic Preservation: An Introduction to its History, Principles and Practices
Norman Tyler, New York: W.W. Norton, 2000.
363.69 T971i Funk ACES Library; Architecture & Art Library; Main Library Stacks
Introduction to Planning History in the United States Donald A. Krueckeberg ed.,
New Brunswick, N.J.: Center for Urban Policy Research, 1983.
307.120973 In8 Funk ACES Library; Undergrad Library
Mastering the City: North European City Planning, 1900-2000 Koos Bosma and Helma
Hellinga eds., Rotterdam: NAI Publishers; [The Hague] : EFL Publications, 1997. 2 vols. An
historical overview of 100 years of urban planning in Northern Europe.
Q307.1216094 M393 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Architecture & Art Library
Public Works History in the United States: A Guide to the Literature Public Works
Historical Society, Nashville, Tenn.: American Association for State and Local History, 1982.
016.363 H851p CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Main Library Stacks
The Seduction of Place: The History and Future of the City Joseph Rykwert, New
York: Vintage Books, 2002. Vintage Books assesses how and why urban projects from the past
succeeded or failed and what lessons can be drawn from them for the future.
307.76 R982s Funk ACES Library
See also: Research Resources : Images, Maps and Graphics
Architecture Visual Resources Library WWW: From the University of California at Berkeley, this database of visual images can be searched by period or topic, building or object name and personal or group name. Many items are historical plans and drawings that have been scanned as well as images of buildings, gardens and natural landscapes.
Cities/Buildings Database WWW: A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web. Contains over 5000 images from around the world and images are freely available to anyone with access to the Web for use in the classroom, student study, or for individual research purposes. Images can be searched by name of building, architect/builder, country and other characteristics.
Geography Network WWW: A global network of geographic information users and providers. Mostly free access to many types of geographic content including dynamic maps. The site includes population density maps and customizable maps from Census information, downloadable data, and more.
National Atlas of the United States WWW: Includes many different kinds of maps including printable, multimedia and interactive.
Views and Viewmakers of Urban America: Lithographs of Towns and Cities in the United States
and Canada Notes on the Artists and Publishers and a Union Catalog of their Work 1825-1925
John W. Reps. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 1984.
Q016.76944 R299v CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); Architecture & Art Library Reference; Main Library Stacks
Illinois Aerial Photograph Digital Archive WWW: From UIUC, available universally, can be searched by geographic features, year and county.
Historical Maps of Illinois and the Northwest Territories WWW: From UIUC, available universally, it can be nominally searched.
See also: Reference Resources : Indexes and Abstracts
America: History and Life
UIUC: A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada
from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000
Art Index Retrospective
UIUC: Provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted
publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Covers
architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art; crafts; decorative arts;
fashion; folk art and more.
Avery Index to Architectural
Periodicals UIUC: Indexes more than 2,800 periodicals in architecture, archaeology,
city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Covers 1741 to present.
Business Source Premier
UIUC: Indexes more than 2,300 periodicals in business including management, finance and
economics, over 1,100 in full text. Covers 1886 to present.
Design and Applied Arts Index
UIUC: An international index to design and craft journals. It currently contains over
175,000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals published between
1973-present (most articles date from 1987 on), and data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople,
studios, workshops, firms etc., making the largest database of its kind in the world. Between 1,200
references are added monthly.
Ekistic Index of Periodicals: Selected Periodical Articles on Human Settlements Athens,
Greece: Athens Technological Organization, Athens Center of Ekistics, 1968-- Covers all
aspects of planning, natural resources, land use and transportation, this index is especially
useful for its international scope.
331.8330SEK CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library) (1983-2005); Oak Street Facility (1968-1982)
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index UIUC: Identifies articles about horticulture, gardening and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. Designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history. Over 430 core titles are indexed and abstracted, the majority of which are published in English. The index includes periodicals of the major learned societies in horticulture, botany, ecology, entomology, and plant pathology, and of many plant societies and trade associations. Publications of commercial horticulture, landscaping, and retailing are represented.
Abstracts UIUC: Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and
engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. More
than 700 primary journals are thoroughly indexed and abstracted. Over 2,500 additional sources,
including monographs and conference proceedings, are also monitored for relevant articles.
Covers 1990-present with some earlier records.
Geobase UIUC: includes
citations and abstracts for over 2,000 research-oriented periodicals in development studies, the
Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography. Covers 1980 - .
GeoREF UIUC: A
geoscience database scans more than 3,500 journals and containing over 3 million records from North
America since 1669 and other areas of the world since 1933, contains many references relevant to
city and urban planning.
Index to Current Urban
Documents UIUC: A guide to the reports and research generated by local government
agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and
metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United
States and Canada. Indexes over 2,400 documents yearly, providing a spectrum of access to local
Print, index only: 016.30136 In3: 1984-2006--CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library); 1972-84-- Main Library Stacks
PAIS (Public Affairs Information
Service) International and Archive UIUC: Bibliographic index with abstracts covering
the full range of political, social, and public policy issues.
Periodicals Contents Index
UIUC: An electronic index to millions of articles published in thousands of scholarly and
popular periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. PCI provides context
for each entry by displaying it within the table of contents from the original source journal. The
scope is worldwide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other
Western languages. Indexes journals in city planning and urban studies as well as landscape
architecture and the environment.
UIUC: This database provides fast access to the environmental information necessary to
resolve day-to-day problems, ensure ongoing compliance, and handle emergency situations more
effectively. Covers 1981-present.
Sage Urban Studies Abstracts Beverly Hills, Calif.: Sage Publications, 1973—Books,
articles, pamphlets, government publications, significant speeches, and legislative research are
abstracted. International in scope. Arranged by subject.
301.3605 Sa Funk ACES Library Compact Stacks
SocIndex with Full Text
UIUC: The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,840
selective journals, 630 priority journals, and 815 core journals and covers 1895-present.
Sociological Abstracts Database
UIUC: The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600
journals and other serial publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records
added after 1974 contain abstracts of journal articles. Covers 1952-present. Major areas of
coverage include: community development, culture and social structure, demography and human
biology, environmental interactions, evaluation research, family and social welfare, history and
theory of sociology, management and complex organizations, mass phenomena and political
interactions, methodology and research technology, policy, planning, forecast and speculation.
Urban Affairs Abstracts National League of Cities and U.S. Conference of Mayors
1971-1994 Selects and abstracts articles with general and specific reference to urban information
from nearly 800 periodicals, newsletters and journals. Comprehensive U.S. coverage. Subject
arrangement with author and geographic indexes.
301.3605 Ura Main Library Stacks
Water Resources Abstracts
UIUC: Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on
water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use
and management of water resources. Covers 1962-present
Web of Science UIUC:
Indexes journals and provides complete bibliographic data, full length author abstracts, and cited
references. Indexes currently available are: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social
Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Can also be used to find reviews.
Cyburbia WWW: Contains a selective directory of Internet resources relevant to planning and urbanism. Cyburbia also includes information about mailing lists and newsgroups, and it hosts a very active bulletin board and image hosting gallery.
Development Gateway WWW: An interactive site for information on sustainable development and poverty reduction, and a space for communities to share experiences on development efforts.
The Housing and Community Development: Knowledgeplex WWW: News, information and interactive forums for the affordable housing and community development field. Includes an online library, and a continuous news feed from over 300 sources providing continuous access to housing and community development news stories as LexisNexis pulls them from more than 300 media sources around the country.
Innovative Transportation Technologies WWW: Covers non-traditional transportation technologies with an emphasis on non-automotive transportation. Its library with reports, bibliographies and papers is especially strong.
Planetizen Planning & Development News, Jobs, & Events WWW: A large and comprehensive site with up to date information on planning and development in the news as well as links to important planning and development sites on the web.
Planners Web and Planning Commissioners Journal WWW: City and regional planning resources including articles, news, products as well as a completely searchable subject index and selected articles for the Planning Commissioners Journal.
Sprawl Watch Clearinghouse WWW: Website that covers issues related to sprawl and growth. Has book reviews, resource listings and news on historic preservation, economics, suburbia and many other issues.
Transportation Links WWW: From the New Jersey Transportation Information and Decision Engineering Center a comprehensive and well organized list of links covering both ground and air transportation.
Urban Futures WWW: An excellent resource from an organization that focuses on urban economic development policy and land use planning at the local, regional, state and national level.
Design Career Services WWW: From Iowa State University a searchable guide to jobs and internships has many listings and detailed descriptions below list of postings.
Guide to undergraduate and graduate education in urban and regional planning
WWW: Sandi Rosenbloom, Valerie Johnson eds., Tallahassee, FL: Association of
Collegiate Schools of Planning, 13th edition, 2007.
Q. 301.3 G9412007 Funk ACES Library
International Careers in Urban Planning Sarah Bowen and Christina Delius eds., New
York, NY: American Planning Association, International Division, 2001.
307.12023 In82 Funk ACES Library
The following is a selective list of journals that can be accessed online. Some are not widely indexed.
For a complete list of our journal holdings go to:
Berkeley Planning Journal WWW: Index of articles from inception in 1985, full text for all articles from 1995 to present.
Urban Studies Project at the Woodrow Wilson Center
Conference reports are published online in PDF format. Titles include: Becoming Global and the New Poverty of Cities; Youth, Poverty, and Conflict in Southeast Asian Cities; Youth explosion in Developing World Cities; and more...
Illinois Municipal League Review Magazine WWW: Online in full text from 1997-present and full text for some years from 1956-1996. Covers planning and development issues specific to Illinois municipalities.
Land Development Today WWW: An online publication dedicated to delivering news and perspectives to land development professionals, including developers, planners, surveyors, civil engineers, landscape architects, and construction professionals.
Metropolis Magazine WWW: Covers urban issues of design, planning, architecture and sustainability. Online index from 1998 to present many articles are in full text and online.
Plan Newsletter WWW:From the School of Architecture and Planning at MIT has full text articles indexed from 1997 to present. Includes book reviews.
Planning Forum WWW: A journal of Community and Regional Planning, published by the School of Architecture, University of Texas at Austin. Index and full text from 1997-present.
Shelterforce online WWW: From the National Housing Institute it has a searchable index from 1994-present.
See also: Reference Resources : Legal Resources
Federal Planning and Historic Places: The Section 106 Process Thomas F. King,
Lanham, MD: AltaMira Press, 2000. Explains Section 106 origins, rationale, and the procedures that
must be followed in carrying out its terms.
344.73094 K587f Funk ACES Library
Zoning and Planning Deskbook Douglas W. Kmiec, St. Paul, MN: West Group, 2001-
Ready reference source on all aspects of land use practice and law.
346.73045K719 2001 CPLA Reference (at Funk ACES Library)
The Council of Planning Librarians Archives at UIUC WWW: CPL exchanges and disseminates information relating to urban and rural communities and to planning issues, for use by professionals in public and private sector organizations and institutions internationally. This online finding aid gives access to location information from 1957-1995 including bibliographies, editorial correspondence and more. Actual files and papers are held at the UIUC library.
Environmental Design Library at University of California, Berkeley WWW: Has over a dozen guides to all aspects of city and regional planning, many items are specific to UC users, but it is an excellent and comprehensive resource and most of the items are available at UIUC.
The National Transportation Library WWW: A virtual library for the transportation community from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics. Can browse the collection and even ask the reference librarian for assistance.
The American Planning Association: Non-profit public interest and research organization for planning. It includes information on jobs, legislation, publications and more.
Brownfield Source: Includes a virtual library, up to date information and resources on brownfield issues.
Center on Urban and Metropolitan Policy : This site, based at the Brookings Institution research center, focuses on cities, their metropolitan areas, and the impact upon them of government policies, private sector actions, and national trends.
Civic Strategies : Contains an online library of articles, information, analyses and presentations about regions, cities and leadership.
Project for Public Spaces WWW: A nonprofit organization that provides technical assistance, education, and research through programs in parks, plazas and central squares; buildings and civic architecture; transportation; and public markets. It has extensive photos and examples of successful projects and design criteria.