Library Committee Handbook

Charge, Timeline & Tasks
Meeting Agendas & Minutes
Planning Documents

Strategic Planning Task Force Charge


The Strategic Planning Task Force is charged by the Executive Committee to develop a plan that will identify current and future Library priorities and guide decisions regarding operational and strategic allocations of resources between FY12 and FY15 (July 1, 2011 - June 30, 2015).

The Library Strategic Plan (FY12-FY15) will be a living document that will complement existing efforts such as the New Service Models program, facilitate and promote a culture of consultation and collaboration among Library staff and with Library users, and establish benchmarks or other, appropriate mechanisms for assessment that support routine reporting requirements, including the provision of an annual report to the Office of the Provost, the preparation of proposals to be funded through the Library/IT Fee, etc. 



February 2011
Establish Task Force Membership and Endorse Task Force Charge

March 2011
Review of Previous Strategic Planning Documents, including Strategic Plan (FY06 - FY11), New Service Models reports, University Library Strategic Metrics, and input from previous faculty discussion and brainstorming sessions
Identification of Possible Strategic Opportunities, Challenges, and Priorities

April 2011
Consultation with Library Faculty and Staff
Consultation with Library Leadership Groups, including Executive Committee, Administrative Council, and Budget Group
Consultation with Library Advisory Committees, including Senate Committee on the Library, and University Librarian's Student Advisory Committee
Consultation with Campus Academic Leadership, including Council of Deans, Council of Unit Executive Officers, Office of the Provost

May 2011
Draft Document Prepared for Review by Library Administration and Library Executive Committee
Final Draft Submitted to Library Executive Committee


The membership of the Strategic Planning Task Force should be drawn from members of the Library faculty and staff, and (if available) members of Library Advisory Committees.


Scott Walter, Associate University Librarian for Services and Associate Dean of Libraries (Co-Chair)

David Ward, Vice-Chair, Library Executive Committee, and Associate Professor of Library Administration (Undergraduate Library) (Co-Chair)

One additional member of the Library Executive Committee - Sarah Shreeves

One Library Academic Professional - Tom Habing

One Library Civil Service Staff Member - Scott Mann

Two Library Faculty Members - Scott Schwartz, Harriett Green