Library Committee Handbook

Administrative Council

Administrative Council Minutes

Monday, November 1, 2004
1:30-3:00 p.m.
428 Library

Present: Paula Kaufman, Barbara Ford, Lisa German, Lisa Hinchliffe, Karen Schmidt, Tina Chrzastowski, John Weible, Janis Johnston, Sue Searing, Betsy Kruger, Diane Schmidt, Bill Maher, Karen Wei, Joyce Wright, Tom Kilton, Lyn Jones, Bob Burger, Jan Adamczyk

  1. Recommendation on Composition, Meeting Schedule, and Operating Procedures for the Library’s Administrative Council

    Lisa H., Lisa G., and Diane S. presented a draft document.  The group continued to discuss what should be the charge and function of administrative council.  They decided once the charge had been established it should be reviewed again May, 2005.  There was further discussion about membership and size of the committee.  There was general agreement that there should be principles for inclusion of membership.  Karen Schmidt, Tom Kilton, and Betsy Kruger volunteered to articulate the principles for a variety of membership scenarios

  2. File sharing

    It was agreed upon that the G drive will be the file sharing method for the group along with posting of agendas, minutes, and approved documents on the committee web site.

  3. Holiday Library Closing
    • The President and Chancellor have each given a ½ gift day on December 30 to University employees.
    • The Chancellor has asked that as many units as possible be closed during the Christmas Holiday.  Lisa reported that Services Advisory Committee is recommending that one only the following units be open:
      • Information Desk/Reference
      • Circulation Desk/Stacks
      • Telephone Center
      • Business and Economics Library
      • Education and Social Science
      • IRRC – Borrowing
      • Undergraduate
      • Grainger
      • ACES
      • Law
      • Shipping and Receiving

      Additional unit opening/closing requests are to be submitted to Bob Burger by November 5.