Journalism 400: Reporting I (Local)
Statistics
Textual Sources
County Communities
Student Government and Organizations
University Government
Other Sources (FOIA, etc.)
Statistics
-
American FactFinder
This is the Census Bureau's tool for accessing 1990 and 2000 census data, with more recent
statistics for states and selected cities and counties. Some earlier census data is in the
Historical Census
Browser.
-
Census of Agriculture
Provides statistics from the county to the national levels.
-
Champaign-Urbana Public Health District web site
-
County and City Data Book 2007
Demographic, social, and economic data for states, counties, cities, and towns.
-
County Business Patterns and Zip Code
Business Patterns
These two sources indicate how many businesses (by type) are located in each county and zip
code area.
-
Crime in Illinois
Published annually by the Illinois State Police. Documents reported crimes in Illinois
cities and counties, and in some special jurisdictions, such as universities and parks.
-
Crime in the United States
Topics include crime, arrests, and law enforcement personnel. The preceding title was
Uniform Crime Reports for the United States (1930-1997).
-
Historical Census
Browser
Contains state and county data for the years 1790 to 1960.
-
Illinois Board of Higher education
Find statistics on educational institutions, teachers, and students.
-
Illinois Department of Public Health
Provides statistics on births, deaths, marriage and divorce, abortions, health care, and
related topics at the state and county levels.
-
LexisNexis Statistical
Includes statistics in every field. To get local data, check
by County,
by City, or
by Metro Area below the heading, Geography.
-
Report Cards
for Illinois schools
Provides statistics on each school and school district in every Illinois county.
-
Search for Public Schools
Provides statistics on each primary and secondary school in the United States.
-
State & County QuickFacts
Contains demographic and business statistics issued by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Textual Sources
County Communities
General Sources
-
Community
Profiles
Click on the first letter of the town or city's name to access a page containing data on
economic development, employment, utilities, taxes, transportation, health care, and local
schools.
-
State and Local Government on the Net
In the left sidebar, click on the Local Govt. pull-down menu, select Illinois, and click on
Go. An alphabetical list of county and community names will appear. Each community name
is linked to a town or city web site.
-
Community Information by Zip Code
Includes population, housing, education, health, environment, business, and political
statistics.
Champaign
Urbana
Mahomet
Rantoul
Savoy
General Information
Student Government & Organizations
University Government
Other Sources
Illinois
Freedom of Information Act