Communications Library

10 Step How-To for Searching Online Databases

Key Resources

Special Collections

Related University Colleges and Departments

Info Services

Faculty Resources


Table of Contents Alerts Now Available!


Adv 483 (Sar)

Advertising Resources

Remember to bring your I-Card when requesting these resources!

1. Company/Product Information: (sources available via the Library website)

ABI/Inform

  • Identifies articles on business, finance, and management topics from regional, U.S. and international publications.

Advertising Age

  • Includes information specific to the advertising industry.

Lexis/Nexis
  • Provides the most recent news stories (including business) and statistics on companies, products, consumers, trends, etc.

Mintel
  • Includes demographic (U.S. as well as international) information on consumers and products.

OneSource

  • Includes information on companies and products. Provides descriptions of companies and industries, news stories, significant developments, competitors reports, strengths and weaknesses, and peer analysis.

Wall Street Journal

  • Provides the most recent business news and information on companies, products, consumers, trends, etc.


2. Demographic and Psychographic Information


American Fact Finder

  • Find popular facts (income, population, racial info, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community. Search by state, county, city, town, or zip code.

MRI / Mediamark (available online)

  • Includes demographic and marketing data on consumers, products, and media.

How to Read a Mediamark Report

MRI Data Methodology FAQ

Mergent

  • Includes annual reports for companies.

Mintel (available online)

  • Includes demographic (U.S. as well as international) information on consumers and products

New Strategist Books (available on the Advertising Bookcase)

  • The Communications Library has a collection of over 50 books focusing on specific demographic groups (ethnicity, age, gender) and their interests, income, spending patterns, education levels, etc.

PRIZM (available online)

  • Helps you evaluate market segments

SRDS Local Market Audience Analyst (available online, requires Internet Explorer)

  • Breaks down the American population geographically and demographically and includes extensive lifestyle information on the interests, hobbies, and activities popular in each geographic and demographic market.
VALS (available online)
  • VALS consulting provides clients with tailored marketing strategies for targeting, positioning, and communications—real-world, real-time, actionable strategies. VALS assists marketers and advertisers gain a fresh perspective by getting "into the heads" of customers; create consumer profiles or personas; and understand the distinct communications styles of targets.



3. Advertising Rates and Data: (sources are located behind the library's reference desk)

SRDS Consumer Magazine Media (available online)

  • Provides information on over 3,000 U.S. and international consumer magazines. Lists detailed group and classified advertising rates as well as circulation figures.

SRDS Digital Websites (available online)

  • Lists online advertising opportunities such as web sites. Get up-to date information on audience profiles, advertising rates, circulation/coverage, contact names and more.
SRDS Newspaper Media(available online)
  • Provides information on daily newspapers, newspaper groups, Black newspapers, college newspapers, and specialized newspaper. Lists detailed group and classified advertising rates as well as circulation figures.

SRDS Digital Networks & Tech (available online)

  • Provides digital ad network and ad tech vendor profiles plus over 20,000 website profiles.

SRDS Out of Home Media (available online) 

  • Includes coverage, circulation, rates, terms and conditions, and advertising rates for over 19 media categories including: airport, outdoor, stadium, transit, movie, and shopping malls.

SRDS Local Media by DMA (available online)

  • Provides information on local media
SRDS Radio Media (available online)
  • Provides: market profiles, AM/FM commercial stations, networks. Includes cost per point estimates.

SRDS TV & Cable Media (available online)

  • Provides affiliations and coverage for: commercial stations, broadcast networks, multiple station owners, cable systems, interconnects, cable networks, sports networks, and syndicators. Includes cost per point estimates

Thumbnail Media Planner

  • Lists current rates and audience estimates for the major media. Call number: 302.230973 T42

TVB: Local Media Marketing Solutions

  • Provides a variety of tools and resources to help advertisers make the best use of local ad dollars.


4. Citing Sources

Note: How to cite MRI/Mediamark Report:

GfK Mediamark Research & Intelligence. (2009, Fall Product Report).

          Fast food & drive-in restaurants bought at last 6 months total.

          Base: Adults. Retrieved from MRI Mediamark Reporter database.



Can't find what you need? Email us at: comlibrarian@library.illinois.edu. Or, visit the Communications Library 

Library Hours: Mon-Thurs: 8 am-11 pm; Fri: 8 am-5 pm; Sat: 11 am-5 pm; Sun: 1-11pm