Communications Library

Key Resources

Special Collections

Related University Colleges and Departments

Info Services

Faculty Resources


Table of Contents Alerts Now Available!


Advertising 483 (Clifton)

Audience Analysis Resources

Remember to bring your I-Card when requesting these resources!

 

1. Advertising Rates and Data:


SRDS TV & Cable Media (available online)

 

SRDS Radio Media (available online)

 

SRDS Newspaper Media (available online)

 

SRDS Consumer Magazine Media (available online)

 

SRDS Out of Home Media (Available Online)

 

SRDS Digital Websites (Available Online)

 

Marketer's Guide to Media (338.47659105 MA)
Thumbnail Media Planner (302.230973 T42)

These sources list current rates and audience estimates for the major media. Includes broadcast and cable television, radio, out-of-home, magazines, newspapers, and online media.

("Average" costs for television and radio advertising are provided.)

 

2. Demographic Information:


SRDS Local Market Audience Analyst (Available Online)

 

New Strategist Books (located on Advertising Book Case)

The Communications Library has a collection of over 50 books focusing on specific demographic groups (ethnicity, age, gender) and their interests, income, spending patterns, education levels, etc.

 

Mintel (Available Online)

Includes demographic info on consumers and products)


Mediamark (Available Online)

Used for evaluating magazines, seeking directory and editorial information)

 

3. Company/Product Information:

(sources available via the Library website)

OneSource

Includes information on companies and products. Provides descriptions of companies and industries, news stories, significant developments, competitors reports, strengths and weaknesses and, peer analysis.

 

Advertising Age

Includes information specific to the advertising industry.

 

Wall Street Journal

Provides the most recent business news and information on companies, products, consumers, trends, etc.

 

Lexis/Nexis

Provides the most recent news stories (including business) and statistics on companies, products, consumers, trends, etc

Can't find what you need? Email us at: comlibrarian@library.illinois.edu. Or, visit the Communications Library

Library Hours: Mon-Thurs: 8 am-11 pm; Fri: 8 am-5 pm; Sat: 11am-5 pm; Sun: 1-11pm

.