Information

Services

 


NIH Public Access Policy. Did you know that most publications resulting from NIH funded research must be deposited in PubMed Central? The Library can help! Learn More

Contact Us:

(217) 333-0281

dcschmid@illinois.edu

Life Sciences Libraries

 

Databases

Online access to a large collection of bibliographic databases is available to UIUC patrons. Commonly used databases for the life sciences such as Biological Abstracts, PubMed, and Science Citation Index and Zoological Record among many others are linked directly from the Biology Library homepage.  Access to these and many other bibliographic databases are also accessible from from the Online Research Resources (ORR) database via the campus Library Gateway bar on the left side of the Biology Library page.  Search instructions for major life sciences databases can be found at http://www.library.uiuc.edu/bix/guides.htm#dbsi .

You can access all of the online database resources from the public computer terminals in the Biology Library, from any campus computer terminal, or even from a remote computer if you have a UIUC NetID and password.  If you would like some help learning to use any of these resources, stop by the Biology Library Reference Desk, 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday - Friday, e-mail biolib@uiuc.edu, consult the available Instructional Handouts, or call 244-3591.

RefWorks (Bibliographic Software), is a Web-based citation management tool which is supported by several bibliographic databases. There are numerous formatting possibilities. References with a bibliography can be placed into Word documents from RefWorks with its “Write and Cite” feature. EndNote libraries can be imported into RefWorks. All citations in RefWorks have a UIUC " Discover" link, allowing you quick access to the e-version of journal articles available through our campus Library resources or, for those articles not available fulltext, an automatically filled out Interlibrary Loan request needing just a click to send.

To use RefWorks you will first need to create an account which is very quick, and free (to UIUC affiliates). Then you will be able to access your account via the Web anywhere anytime using your subscriber login name and password. Note: If you are not using the campus network, you will need to use Your Subscriber Group Code which is provided when you register. For more information, including instructions go to http://www.library.uiuc.edu/refworks/.

EndNote (Bibliographic Software). The School of Life Science supports the bibliographic software product, EndNote. EndNote allows you to download bibliographic information from online resources, and to generate bibliographies in specific formats from citations you have downloaded. For instructions on using EndNote to download citations from various article databases, including Current Contents, Biological Abstracts, and PubMed, see the EndNote Guides developed by the Veterinary Medicine Library.  The EndNote Website also has information about using EndNote.  For more information about using EndNote, contact the SOLS Computer Assisted Instruction Specialist, Barbara Meyer at 333-2756 or e-mail ebmeyer@uiuc.edu.