Black Studies Collections

Guide to African American reference

Guide to Afro-Caribbean reference

History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library

Internet Links

Networked databases

Online Library Catalog

Subject bibliographies



Databases

(Restricted to University of Illinois users.)


  

Magazine & Periodical Indexes:

 

Citations are drawn from alternative, radical, and left publications, that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. 

A bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 

A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. 

Largest education database in the world, covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. 

Provides bibliographic citations to articles and reviews pertaining to Central and South America, Mexico, the Carribean, and Hispanics in the U.S.

Coverage of the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada.  

Identifies publications written from a leftist political, economic, social or cultural perspective. Publication types include articles, books, and other current and historical sources. 

Indexes articles from scholarly journals, theses, proceedings, and books on literature, language and folklore.

Major areas of coverage include: Administration of justice,  Economic conditions, Education, Health conditions, Human rights, International Relations, Labor conditions and policy, Media and communications, Politics, Population and demographics, and Social conditions.

Offers broad, international coverage of all types of scholarly research.

A multidisciplinary database  covering the journal literature of the social sciences.

Accesses  research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. 

Identifies articles, books, chapters, gray literature and media on women's studies and feminism.

 

Full-Text Journal Aggregators:

Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.

This database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Accesses scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers.  Over 3000 journals are indexed, with links to the full text for over half of the journals.

A full-text collection of  newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority U.S. press from 1960 to present.  

Includes searchable full-text for backfile articles in the Journal of Black Studies, Journal of Negro Education, Journal of Negro History, Negro American Literature Forum, Phylon (1960-), Transition, Black American Literature Forum, Callaloo, Phylon (1940-1956), Phylon Quarterly, African American Review, and Journal of Blacks in Higher Education.

Online periodical archive of back files of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.  The scope is worldwide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages.

Provides access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

 

Encyclopedia & Handbooks:

 

Ranging from the 15th century to the present, explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.

Provides a range of historical and current information on African American history, society and culture and includes coverage of Africa and the Black Diaspora. Has chronologies, texts of important documents, legislation, speeches, biographical profiles, essays, and more than 650 photographs, illustrations, maps and statistical charts.

Examines a multitude of black cultural leaders from the 18th century to the present.  Covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders from all walks of life.  Biographical information covers important events in a writer's life, education, major works, honors and awards, and family and important associates.

More than 1,000 stories of a people overcoming adversity to emerge triumphant, including the recent successes of modern-day pioneers like Suzan-Lori Parks (winner of the 2002 Pulitzer Prize for drama and Vonetta Flowers, the first African American to be awarded the Winter Olympic gold medal.

Covers the works of 54 African-American poets writing in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

The central focus is on the experience of African-Americans throughout North and South America.  Volume 6 is a selection of primary documents.

Examines efforts to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. Focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific incidents, events, and developments, and pulls together in one place information previously available only in a wide variety of sources. The set also includes authoritative accounts of emancipation and abolition in Europe, Africa, the Caribbean, and Latin America.

Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.

Contains articles on race, ethnicity, sociology, and other social sciences.  Full text of civil rights speeches and other relevant documents is included.

Includes Contemporary Authors (a bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields) Contemporary Literary Criticism (providing an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers), and Dictionary of Literary Biography (providing  biographical and critical studies written by scholars and academics, bibliographic information about each author's writings, and sources for further reading).

Explores the people, places, writings, laws, and organizations that made the network known as the Underground Railroad. Includes coverage of both the United States and Canada.

 

Digital Collections:

 

Identifies articles in major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century. Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. Also contains early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements. 

Features more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
Created from the Library Company’s acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection, this online resource provides researchers with more than 12,000 essential books, pamphlets, and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, in African American history, literature, and culture.

Features the 3-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, the 3-volume Black Women in America encyclopedia, the 5-volume  Africana encyclopedia of the African and African American experience, and selected articles from other reference works. Also includes  bibliographies, timelines, maps, image collections, and key primary source documents.

Primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.

Black Drama to provides access to English-language plays written by black authors from North America, the Caribbean, and Africa between 1850 and the present. There is a concentration of materials from the Harlem Renaissance, modern African American authors, and 20th Century African playwrights.

Consists of primary source documents from the personal papers of African Americans and records of civil rights organizations. Module one (Organizational records and personal papers) consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers and contains records of civil rights organization and personal papers on African American life in the 20th century. The second module (Federal government records) is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies and contains records on the major milestones and events in the civil rights movement.

Combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index. 

Features documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.  Included are films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.  Includes more than 200 videos.

Black Thought and Culture is a single source for the published works of numerous historically important black leaders.  Along with well-known works, the collection features approximately 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials. When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975.

The HistoryMakers collection is an archive of filmed oral history interviews of contemporary African Americans who have shaped modern history and made significant contributions to history, politics, education, law, arts, science, business, the military, and sports.

This collection includes the Social Protest Collection held by the Bancroft Library at the University of California. The Social Protest Collection was gathered by the Social Protest Project for the university’s undergraduate library between 1969 and 1982 and consists of pamphlets, leaflets, flyers, posters, and other ephemera.  The collection has significant material on the Civil Rights and Black Power movements.  For example, see  Civil Rights subject file, 1968-1974.

Identifies doctoral dissertations from U.S. & Canadian institutions. Abstracts from 1980. Full text access CIC university dissertations (including UIUC) available in PDF digital format from 1997.

Includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Has more than 2,000 items on the Civil Rights and Black Power movements

Bringing together primary source documents spanning six centuries–from 1490 to 2007–from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, includes many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps, and images not available elsewhere. Topics emphasized include: Slavery in the Early Americas, African Coast, The Middle Passage, Slavery and Agriculture, Urban and Domestic Slavery, Slave Testimony, Spiritualism and Religion in Slave Communities, Resistance and Revolts, The Underground Railroad, The Abolition Movement and the Slavery Debate, Legislation and Politics, Freed Slaves, Freedmen and Free Black Settlements, Education, Slavery and the Islamic World, Varieties of Slave Experience, Slavery Today and the Legacy of Slavery.

Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, and the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century.

A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African American poets of the twentieth century.  Presently includes over 6,000 poems from over 100 complete editions by 46 poets.

 


 URL:  /afx/afro.htm    

back  Return to African American Research Center