- Africa Bibliography
Includes a wide range of materials from all regions, including North Africa. Covers monographs, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, and pamphlets in English as well as Portuguese, French, Italian, German, Swahili, Spanish and Afrikaans.
- African Studies Centre (Leiden) Database
Identifies monographs, journal articles and chapters from edited works on both North and Sub-Saharan Africa. Works best with Firefox browser.
- African Women's Bibliographic Database
Identifies citations from English-language publications about African women.
- Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database
Identifies English-language articles from English-language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.
- Black Drama
Contains many African plays and playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
- DISA Digital Imaging South Africa: Southern African Freedom Struggles, 1950-1994
Identifies articles, editorials and other commentary about political views in Southern Africa between 1950 and 1994.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Also find the New ProQuest Interface. Includes full text access to 200 U.S. newspapers and journals with much coverage of Africa.
- Index Islamicus
Identifies publications on Islam, the Middle East and North Africa and the Muslim world.
- International African Bibliography (IAB)
Produced at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) Library, University of London.
- Internet Library Sub-Saharan Africa (ILISS Africa)
Especially good for Dutch and German materials.
Includes full-text articles in many disciplines.
- Liberation Journals Index
For mainly pan-African articles from Francophone countries, between WWI and WWII.
- Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature
Identifies mainly scholarly journal articles published in East, Southern and West Africa.
For South African scholarly journal articles.
- Sudan Open Archive
Open access archive of digitized materials related to regions of the Sudan.